Monsieur Ragondin (Every Day Poets, March 2011)

Pray tell me, Monsieur Ragondin
how hard it is to be
the target of revulsion and
such harsh antipathy.

There was a time you valued us
and farmed us for our fur.
We kept your foolish women warm,
you cared not what we were.

You burrow in our river banks
and devastate our fields,
destroy our plants, and this is why
we hunt with guns and steel.

We came not of our own free will.
‘Twas here that we were brought,
then, when no profit could be made
you freed us, without thought.

You breed your evil colonies,
glide slickly through our streams.
Your sepsis-ridden orange teeth
pollute our children’s dreams.

You took us from a warmer clime
to Europe’s icy grip.
Our young ones die a painful death
when frosts and north winds nip.

We’re wiser now, but it’s too late
to change what has been done.
We must conserve the future now.
Poor Monsieur Ragondin.

About Sandra

I cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and write fiction and poetry. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Published Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monsieur Ragondin (Every Day Poets, March 2011)

  1. lillian says:

    Quickly first, did you notice that the fifth stanza is off-set here? IE not indented? Just thought I’d mention in case you didn’t mean for that to be.
    Your rhyming ability is amazing in this poem. I’ve tried rhyming and find that mine is so “mechanical” — free verse works so much better for me. But here, your rhyming just flows — it’s seamless. I’m so caught up in the sense and meaning of the poem, what the poem has to say — that the rhyming simply becomes a part of the sense rather than an apparent “framework”….hope I’m expressing this well. An excellent story told within this poem. 🙂

    Like

    • Sandra says:

      I didn’t notice that Lillian. I’m wondering whether you would enjoy the poetry group on a site I used to frequent. http://www.writewords.org.uk/groups/ There are several community groups there – I am a member of Flash Fiction. When I was a member of the poetry section there were weekly challenges, where you submitted your own efforts along a particular theme, and the other members would discuss the submissions pretty much in the same way as you are approaching my efforts. It might be worth investigating. Thank you again for visiting.

      Liked by 1 person

      • lillian says:

        Thanks so much for the suggestion! I will definitely check this out.
        I sure am wishing you’d do more poetry! Will have to check out your Flash Fiction pieces, and the barge travel information, on another day. Had never heard of Flash Fiction. Learning something new every day in this cyberspace! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

