An Inappropriate Choice (100 Word Challenge)

“But I don’t see why she insisted on that colour,” said his wife, “it’s just so … inappropriate.”

“Well she’s always felt that it suited her,” he said, “she called it vibrant.”

“You should have refused. She always could wind you round her little finger.  What will people think?”  She shuddered.

“Well it’s too late to change it now, so people will just have to ignore it, and think about the person inside instead.”

Secretly he agreed. His mother had looked dreadful in red, but she’d been adamant and she usually got her own way.

He turned and followed the red coffin into the church.

(This week’s challenge for the 100 word story was ‘… the red box’ )  🙂

About Sandra

I cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and write fiction and poetry. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in By the Way ..., Just Sayin' and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to An Inappropriate Choice (100 Word Challenge)

  1. sue Cottrill says:

    Lady in Red, is that how she secretly thought of herself, I think so!!

    Like

  2. Sandra says:

    Hi Sue, you’re an early bird! If you can’t be a lady in red from time to time, where’s the fun in it? 🙂

    Like

  3. enterprisegran says:

    This one made me laugh. A great take on the prompt!

    Like

  4. Sandra says:

    Thank you for commenting. Glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

    Like

  5. I love this. Bet it’s really happened too!

    Like

  6. And why not? Great piece. How to get the last laugh 🙂

    Like

  7. Sandra says:

    Thank you Anna, glad you liked it.

    Like

  8. lauraj684 says:

    I really liked this! I would love a red coffin… Am unsure what to write about today so I may steal your prompt! Do you set the challenges?

    Like

  9. Judee says:

    I enjoyed this – a lot. I kind of thought midway that it was a funeral and she was in a red dress – but you totally tricked me with the red coffin. Great job! 🙂

    Like

  10. Alison Green says:

    I love this. I totally agree with ‘Mother’. When I was very ill last year I chose a coffin which is White with scarlet poppies on it. I am SO glad I did not need it but I wanted to make a last statement.

    Like

  11. I thought this mystery might involve a young daughter’s choice about something before you revealed the answer. I love it when a 100 word story feels textured like this.

    She’s lucky to have a son who would follow her last wishes. This request isn’t really so bad, is it?

    Like

  12. Sandra says:

    Thanks for commenting. No, it’s not so bad, maybe the daughter in law is just a bit straight-laced. 😦

    Like

  13. let the wishes of the dead be upheld…she was one hell of a rebel. The story is rich and well written.

    Like

  14. Loved this, great take on the prompt x

    Like

  15. Sandra says:

    Thanks Susan.

    Like

  16. You should never mess with the departed. I like the lady’s style. Good read. Great ending.

    Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

