Reaching A Conclusion (Friday Fictioneers, April 2012)

This week’s photo prompt from Madison Woods.

Reaching A Conclusion

I like to walk by the river at dawn – it helps me reflect, to see things more clearly.

“We were only drifting along, you and I” he’d said.  “Not really going anywhere.”

That wasn’t the way I’d seen it; I thought we had a future together.  He was everything to me.

I didn’t watch him go, just let him drift away.

Besides, I had to bury the knife and freshen up a bit; I hate messy endings.

I like to walk by the river.  I see things more clearly.

To be honest, now I’m wondering whether he really was my type.

About Sandra

I cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and write fiction and poetry. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers, Just Sayin' and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to Reaching A Conclusion (Friday Fictioneers, April 2012)

  1. Lora Mitchell says:

    Hi Sandra: Wow…afraid to ask what you did with that knife. IF it’s what I think it is, nice, gory, twist. Here’s mine:
    (a follow-up to my Sunset White Branches story)
    http://www.triplemoonstar.blogspot.com

    Like

  2. Lindaura says:

    Gee, Sandra, your stories are always so great. So complete and so amusing at the same time. It makes me jealous, but I will bury my envy and learn from you instead. Perfect again.
    NO more for me to add. Just simply perfect. Plotted, described and executed, literally. Ans so damn funny!
    Your fan,
    Linda Laura Lindaura
    My puny offering:
    http://fictionvictimtoo.blogspot.com

    Like

  3. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Sandra,

    I am sitting here typing with a wide grin on my face. I love the way you set us up and knocked us down. Have to admit I was wondering how you would address this photo prompt since it is your milieu. Wonderful work.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    http://ironwoodwind.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/unhinged/

    Like

  4. Love the tension/counterpoint, the peace of the river versus the bloody image of the knife. Here’s mine: http://furiousfictions.com.

    Like

  5. Judee says:

    Wonderfully macabre. I bet there are a number of women who fantasized a similar scene, but never took it quite this far. 😉 Well done.

    Like

  6. unspywriter says:

    Niiice!!! I’m glad she freshened up a bit. 😉 Thanks for the comments on mine. Blogger won’t let me reply to comment on my own freaking blog. 😦

    Like

  7. I was wondering who would be brave enough to do the murder route. I certainly wasn’t. Very well done, very enjoyable!

    Here’s mine:

    http://sarahthestoryteller.wordpress.com

    Like

  8. erinleary says:

    Nice twist (of the knife) at the end. I love how different each person’s response to the prompt is – murder was not on my mind, but glad it was on yours! 🙂

    Mine is here: http://erinleary.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/sunrise/

    Like

  9. John Hardy Bell says:

    Wickedly wonderful ending! Way to set us up, only to knock us back on our heels – with laughter!

    Great writing!

    Like

  10. I love the line “I didn’t watch him go, just let him drift away.” Beautiful work. It’s good to know I’m not the only one who took the dark road.

    Thanks for your comment
    http://www.wakefieldmahon.com/1/post/2012/04/down-by-the-river-friday-fictioneers1.html

    Like

  11. Caerlynn Nash says:

    Wonderful. Nobody likes messy endings. 😉 Nice tension and twist.

    Like

  12. Gary says:

    I love the dark humour on display here, especially after drawing us in to this wounded character. We identified with her – you know, before she knifed the fella to death…

    Mine is this-a-way:
    http://garybaileywriting.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/fridayfictioneers-catfishing/

    Like

  13. This is so finely written, with just the right amount of melancholy and dark humour. The tone reminds me of the writing in Dexter (I mean this as a compliment). You communicate the disconnect of a sociopath really well (not a commentary on your mental state!), particularly in the line about ‘freshening up’. Great fun to read 🙂

    http://andyfloodwritersblog.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/the-lasting-kind/

    Like

    • Sandra says:

      This must be a first; you’ve articulated what I couldn’t have when I tried to get the character across. ‘the disconnect of a sociopath’. I’ll remember that! Thanks for commenting Andy.

      Like

  14. miq says:

    I loved how wove the term drift throughout the story. It was masterfully done.

    Mine is here: http://threedescriptors.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/flash-fiction-20-cold-night/

    Like

  15. “…I’m wondering whether he really was my type” Well, not any more! Nice piece…poor, peaceful river is the scene of many undoings this week, though. I liked your walk along its banks very much! Thank you for sharing.

    ~Susan (Here’s mine: http://www.susanwenzel.com/)

    Like

  16. Sandra says:

    Thanks for commenting, glad it made you laugh. 🙂

    Like

  17. Oh, fantastic twist at the end. Love the line, “I didn’t watch him go, just let him drift away.”

    Like

  18. This caught me off guard. The switch from loving to cold-blooded was seamless.

    Like

  19. Madison Woods says:

    Hahaha, everytime I think I’m going to read an ordinary one from you, you take me by surprise. That was a good one. Totally different meaning of not watching him drift away than I first expected.

    Like

  20. How does that line go about “a woman scorned”? Yipes! Decidedly macabre and fun read.

    Like

  21. Sandra says:

    Thank you Jeffrey. Glad you liked it.

    Like

  22. just when am about to say I have learnt it all in writing class, i still have to watch out for people like you…i love the poetic introduction and the knock-out effect of the twist on me…Sandra, you blew me up with this and i’m so loving it!

    https://seewilliams.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/f-is-for-flash-fiction/

    Like

  23. Sandra says:

    Wow! praise indeed. Thank you Charles, for commenting so kindly.

    Like

  24. The twist made me laugh. Very nicely done. I wonder how many bodies are in that river. 😉

    Like

  25. Robert says:

    Loved the connection between the flowing river and the drifting relationship. Another great red. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  26. Sandra says:

    Yes, she’s a pretty cold person I’d say. 🙂 Thanks for commenting.

    Like

  27. Russell says:

    I love the casual attitude of the killer, and how she hates messy endings. It made me smile 🙂

    Like

  28. Michael Fishman says:

    Deliciously evil! I fear for the one who she finds IS her type!

    Like

  29. Sandra says:

    Now there’s a thought …. Thanks for commenting 🙂

    Like

  30. The knife is the twist. Now did she kill him? “I thought we had a future together. He was everything to me.” Fatal attraction. The coldblooded and chilling words “I hate messy ending” suggests that the narrator was detached and well, cold blooded about the killing. A psycopath perhaps. Great story!

    Here is my humble offering: http://readinpleasure.wordpress.com/2012/04/10/flash-fiction-friday-fictioneers/

    Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

