The Female of the Species (Friday Fictioneers, July 2012)

This week’s photo prompt from Madison Woods’ Friday Fictioneers.

She appeared exhausted.  The alien had tracked her for days, and she’d not rested, driving herself relentlessly on.

As she stumbled towards the ruins, it sensed victory at hand.

Now she’d sleep.  Now it could infiltrate her consciousness, explore and tap the resources it needed, ravage that fine intellect which had resisted all earlier attempts at domination.

She slept; the silver tracks of her dreams spiralled through the holes in the roof. The hovering alien seized one and entered her.

Seconds later, it recoiled in horror, launching itself from the confines of her mind.

Shoes?” it shrieked, “who dreams of shoes, for God’s sake?”

<!– start InLinkz script –>
<script type=”text/javascript”>
document.write(‘<script type=”text/javascript” src=http://www.inlinkz.com/cs.php?id=170492&’ + new Date().getTime() + ‘”><\/script>’);</script>
<!– end InLinkz script –>

About Sandra

I cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and write fiction and poetry. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers, Just Sayin' and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to The Female of the Species (Friday Fictioneers, July 2012)

  1. Kwadwo says:

    hahaha! Whoever thought shoes could save a person from an alien? I was wondering how the alien was going to infiltrate her mind. Good thing it didn’t go that far.

    http://logo-ligi.com/2012/07/06/healing/

    Like

  2. raina says:

    hahaha…I dream of shoes! This was brilliant Sandra I really enjoyed it. Our stories are on the list and can be found here: http://writersclubkl.wordpress.com/

    Like

  3. TheOthers1 says:

    Ahahaha. Not me! Cracked me up.

    My attempt: http://unduecreativity.wordpress.com/2012/07/05/desert-warrior/

    Like

  4. sinosheila says:

    Ha-ha. Very good twist. The pov seemed to waver at times, or was that just me?

    Like

  5. Kaitlin says:

    Bahaha, awesome! Definitely well done to catch by surprise! Way to foil the alien, lady 😀 http://kaitlinandmichaelbranch.com/2012/07/06/friday-fictioneers-10/

    Like

  6. Jess Schira says:

    LOL! Until I got to the end, I was sure that this “the silver tracks of her dreams spiralled through the holes in the roof.” was going to be my favorite line, but your ending’s fantastic. Great job! Very inspired and lots of fun!

    Like

  7. unspywriter says:

    Loved this! I’ll make certain to dream of shoes more. 😉

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/price-of-passage/

    Like

  8. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Sandra,

    i was watching the Tour today and saw several narrow boats and a few locks and bridges on the canals via helicopter. Thought of you.

    This story is awesome. Starts off full of menace and dread and ends like the Martian heads exploding to Hank Williams’ music in Mars Attacks. I am still laughing.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    http://ironwoodwind.wordpress.com/2012/07/06/nurture-or-nature/

    Like

  9. Linda says:

    You made me laugh with this one and I can just imagine an alien being completely flummoxed by the female human’s interest in something like shoes 🙂

    I’m on the list but for those who happen across, my offering is also here: http://womanontheedgeofreality.com/2012/07/06/reality-brought-forth/

    Like

  10. Mike says:

    A great take on the prompt.
    I loved your last sentence, so unexpected.
    However I’m with the alien, who on earth dreams of shoes!?

    Like

  11. billgncs says:

    laughed out loud, excellent twist!

    Like

  12. Oh, brilliantly done! The last line has to be a winner, but the ‘silvery tracks of her dreams’ . . . well, I wish I’d used that in our books, because it would fit perfectly. *not jealous at all*

    Like

  13. erinleary says:

    Nice payback. Make them suffer for their trespasses. Well done.

    Mine is on the list at #15 or here: http://erinleary.wordpress.com/2012/07/05/flash-friday-fiction-11/#entry

    Like

  14. flyoverhere says:

    I laughed out loud! Women are such complicated beings……

    Like

  15. Hi Sandra,
    Loved the line: The silver tracks of her dreams spiralled through the holes in the roof. A lot of story in so few words and a nice surprise turnaround at the end. Thanks for reading and commenting on my story.

    Like

  16. elmowrites says:

    Hi Sandra! I like how this piece comes from the point of view of the hunter, although “alien” seemed like an odd word for it to choose to describe itself. I love the story, and the ending is good fun. It felt slightly hampered by the word limit – you have some great lines here and I’d have liked to see it more fleshed out. But that’s what 100 words does for you.

    Like

  17. That would be sufficient to dissuade even the most determined alien presence. Cute tale

    Like

  18. Parul says:

    Hahaha!! Very smart!
    I loved this!! Lol, still smiling!

    Parul
    http://faitaccompli.wordpress.com/2012/07/06/older-and-wiser/

    Like

  19. JKBradley says:

    Those aliens just don’t appreciate what a nice set of heels can do for a woman.

    http://thebradleychronicles.wordpress.com/2012/07/06/flash-fiction-friday-lovers-embrace/

    Like

  20. EmmaMc says:

    Hahahaha!! Brilliant! Alien’s plan foiled by some shoes, love it.

    Like

  21. Russell says:

    Overall, a strong story with a fantastic finish. I would probably give the alien a name, since it is coming from his/her POV. It would make the story more personalble. Thanks for visiting & commenting on mine.

    http://russellgayer.blogspot.com/

    Like

  22. Brian Benoit says:

    Ha, a totally unexpected last line. I liked the image of the dreams coming in strands through the roof, truly unique. Great stuff (as always of course)!

    Like

  23. sphrbn says:

    Haha, a foreboding start with a humorous end

    Like

  24. mysocalledDutchlife says:

    At least he found it out before she turned them into moths! Lucky escape for the alien, I think. Even aliens can’t understand our devotion to footware!

    I’m here: http://mysocalleddutchlife.wordpress.com/2012/07/06/the-house-that-jack-built-ff-6712/

    Like

  25. Mayumi-H says:

    Oh, my goodness…! Sandra, I had to focus twice on your beautifully-crafted setup, from my initial update notice…and then I laughed out loud at that fantastic ending! I had to read it aloud to my husband beside me, I was so impressed. 😀

    The dream-stealer is a familiar horror, but I really like what you did with those tendrils: very imaginative, and gives the right sense of creepy. (And then, that ending. Oh, that ending!)

    Superbly done! Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  26. HAHAH– yes, I did that, pretty loudly. Take that, alien entity!

    Like

  27. Sandra says:

    Thanks everybody for commenting. I’m fast approaching monthly internet limit so can’t reply to each personally, but I appreciate your taking the time, and have tried (and I think succeeded) in visiting and commenting on all your sites.

    Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

