Night Harvest (Five Sentence Fiction, August 2012)

The prompt from Lillie McFerrin’s Five Sentence Fiction this week was Night.

She watches from the window as the sun finally sinks beneath the horizon leaving a blaze of red and purple to mark its passing and then turns away, going further into the room, away from prying eyes.

The transformation always takes a while, and she can be patient; she has learned to sit quietly as a gentle resonance stirs her limbs, moving slowly up her torso until her entire body gradually disappears into a spinning cocoon of silver mist, soft as velvet, slippery as silk.

The window creaks opens in response to some impulse from the silver coil which then glides gently out into the darkness, turning, twisting in rapture as the cool night air caresses the particles of its being; there is much to enjoy, much to experience on this planet.

Across the rooftops it soars into the night sky, curling gently down again to find other windows that have been left open on this heavy summer night – windows that will allow it access not only to study men, women and children, but also to harvest their dreams, fears and aspirations; there is a long night ahead.

And as a pale cyan strip emerges in the eastern sky, it rises, sated with all that it has devoured in the long night hours, and turns to head for home;  it is almost dawn, and the messenger will be here shortly, ready to convey this consignment back to the home planet, where its people will be royally entertained for aeons to come.

About Sandra

I cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and write fiction and poetry. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in By the Way ..., Just Sayin' and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Night Harvest (Five Sentence Fiction, August 2012)

  1. Sandra, this is amazing. What a fascinating tale. Yes. I imagine our antics would amuse beings of higher intelligent. We must be like the Cartoon Channel. I really love the pace in which you slowly reveal your character’s true being and intention. Best of the week for me! I’ll have mine up soon, but it’s pretty paltry by comparison.

    Like

  2. Magnificent! Your writing always takes me on a journey but the scope of this still took me by surprise. The movement of the silver coil energy was echoed in the way you moved through the locations and ideas. Beautifully realized, Sandra.

    Like

  3. Car says:

    Beautiful descriptive writing. I really enjoyed this one Sandra!

    Like

  4. This is brilliant! I love the depth of this piece, and the smart manner in which you drew the reader into this world..

    Like

  5. Mayumi-H says:

    Gorgeous description of this dream-catcher, Sandra. She’s full of mystery and grace, fitting for an aetherial. Lovely.

    Like

  6. Dream catcher is what I envisioned too, an ethereal alien dream catcher…just beautiful!

    Like

  7. ahblack57 says:

    Very ethereal. Very evocative. Very different. Very good.

    Like

  8. Sandra says:

    Thank you, glad you enjoyed it.

    Like

  9. I was captured…to the point that I want to leave my window wide open! Of course now there are a few antics I need to clean up.

    Beautiful work, Sandra.

    Like

  10. I love this catcher of dreams! It reads like a modern day fairy tale and I can imagine them all being entertained by our wonderful night time mysteries. A very clever piece that I thoroughly enjoyed! xx

    Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

