Losing the Sale (Five Sentence Fiction)

This week’s one word prompt from Lillie McFerrin’s Five Sentence Fiction was ‘blush’. 

“I think this room demands ‘blush’” the interior decorator said, pushing a lock of his amber-streaked hair behind his ear, “with perhaps one wall contrasted in ‘eau de nil’.

“I hate pink, and green gives me a headache” Josie said, defiantly challenging this creature who was making her feel inept, unfeminine, and very much out of her depth, “perhaps something more neutral – beige for instance.”

Anton rolled his eyes heavenwards; “But ‘oatmeal’ and ‘calico’ are so passé my dear, one might as well go ‘magnolia’ and shriek ‘antediluvian’ to the entire universe; think of the effect on your child, opening its eyes every morning to such insipidity.”

His gaze flickered disdainfully over her elasticated trousers and wrinkled cheesecloth smock as she drew herself up to her full 5’3”.

“Actually, I’m not pregnant,” she said in steely tones, and his face assumed an engaging shade of terracotta that might, she supposed, go very nicely with the floor tiles with which he was about to become intimately acquainted.

About Sandra

I cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and write fiction and poetry. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in By the Way ..., Just Sayin'. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Losing the Sale (Five Sentence Fiction)

  1. dmmacilroy says:

    Get ‘im, Tigress!

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Like

  2. sinosheila says:

    Lovely. You’ve been perusing the paint cards, I see. http://sheilacorneliuswritinglife.blogspot.com/

    http://mykindofwriting.blogspot.com/

    ________________________________

    Like

  3. Sandra says:

    Ah! I didn’t realise that you were sinosheila, Sheila. 🙂 Had a look at your sites. I remember starting The Savage Garden, but have no recollection of the end of it. How riveting a read must that have been!

    Like

  4. Mayumi-H says:

    😀 Way to turn around that sanctimonious b*, Josie! Love your use of color phrases, especially in that last paragraph. So fitting. 🙂

    Like

  5. TheOthers1 says:

    This cracked me up. I’m glad she stuck up for herself. Girl’s got a backbone made of stainless steel. 🙂

    Like

  6. ahblack57 says:

    You’ll have to read mine. Same idea but yours is infinitely better. Great minds and all that but today yours is greater…

    Like

  7. Mike says:

    A great piece of writing Sandra.
    A clever use of the prompt – loved the way the story developed around the colour chart.

    Like

  8. lisashambrook says:

    One of my favourites Sandra! Loved that so much and your last line was superb!

    Like

  9. Sarah says:

    Personally I love the idea of “blush” and “eau de nil” but I wouldn’t argue with your main character!

    Like

  10. I loved it! Thanks for the chuckle! And I hope Anton got what was coming to him! The cheek of the man…

    Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

