Letting Go (Five Sentence Fiction, December 2012)

DSCF1214

This week’s one word prompt from Lillie McFerrin’s Five Sentence Fiction is the word ‘Devotion‘.

“I’m doing it for you Felix, there’s no way I can give you the time or the money or the attention you deserve; it’s time for me to let you go.”

“But I want to stay with you, Ellen; this isn’t what he would have wanted and in any case he’d have expected me to be the one that looks after you.”

“I’m sorry sweetheart, but he wouldn’t have wanted to see you going downhill like this, not after all the work he put into making you what you are today and… ah, here he comes now – I think you’ll like him.”

“It’s certainly in excellent condition Mrs Wilson, good bodywork, engine seems sound enough for the mileage, though I’ve got some reservations about the electrical insulation… there seems to be some water leaking out of the headlights there.”

“What…where…oh for Pete’s sake Felix, man up will you….!

About Sandra

I cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and write fiction and poetry. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in By the Way ..., Just Sayin' and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Letting Go (Five Sentence Fiction, December 2012)

  1. Sisyphus47 says:

    Adorable tale! A smiling post on a delightful subject 🙂

    Like

  2. cute story of love and loss.

    Like

  3. TheOthers1 says:

    Ah. Cute and a little poignant. That last line made me smile

    Like

  4. clever little tale.

    Like

  5. Sharry says:

    How sweet, but a little creepy, too – shades of Carrie.

    Like

  6. K R Smith says:

    Having worked on a number of older vehicles myself, I understand entirely! I enjoyed reading this.

    Like

  7. Nice to have a smile, Sandra :)) As always, well told!

    Like

  8. ahblack57 says:

    Another delightful and imaginative tale. You never fail to please…

    Like

  9. Claire says:

    This was a great piece, loved how it tied in with the prompt. I love how you waited a little to introduce the car, instead of jumping into it. The beginning was a little bit of a red herring, which I loved!

    Like

  10. Aw, so sweet, my kids tell me off for personifying so many objects! Loved this!

    Like

    • Sandra says:

      I suffer from that too! We recently made a rather hurried sale on my car and after it had gone I had several moments of guilt that I didn’t say goodbye properly… sad or what?

      Like

  11. A says:

    Cute and poignant tale. Well-told!

    Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

