Blog of the Year 2012 Award

 

I don’t normally do this.

Apart from seeming like an awful lot of work, it also means a great deal of internet connectivity time which I can’t always guarantee is going to be available to me as we go about on our travels.  I also feel a bit of a fraud accepting blog awards because I seldom ‘blog’ in the strict sense of the word, I just enter flash fiction challenges and provide links to published work and my travels.

But someone whose blogs I very much enjoy has nominated me, and since I’m at home, on a reliable internet connection (well as reliable as it gets around here) and because I really like Mikaela’s blog (and I suspect if I knew her personally I’d really like her too) I’ve decided to engage on this occasion.

I’m also very flattered that she has chosen to include me in her awards, and even though I do have a mental block that prevents me remembering the nice things that people occasionally say to me, I will remember that she did say something nice.

So task 1 is to thank Mikaela and next link back to her blog.  There, that wasn’t too bad.

Next I have to copy and paste the award in my sidebar.  I think I’ve done this, but it was quite early in the morning and possibly a bit too early for me to start trying something new with my site.  But last time I looked, it had worked.  🙂

Now I have to include a link to the site that started all this, so here you go.  This is where you can go to see the definitive word on the rules of this exercise.

And finally I have to nominate some others, but unlike a lot of these awards there is no stipulation as to how many awards should be handed out; Mikaela nominated five but I think I’ll just nominate three, (less is more, don’t you think?) and I believe I have to provide a link and  leave a comment on their blog.

So now, to the golden envelope:  And the winners are, in no particular order:

Rochelle Wisoff Fields who has selflessly taken over the reins of Friday Fictioneers and who deserves an award just for that.  As it happens, her blog Addicted to Purple is pretty damn’ good too.  (And I hope I spelt it right this time Rochelle.  😉

Atiyah Townes for her blog Remaking Me! because I think she’s someone who’s making a steady and impressive progress in her writing.  I’ve only been reading her work since I joined Friday Fictioneers, but I look forward to seeing her name on the LinkZ list each week.

And not to leave the boys out, my last nomination is for Andy Black, one of my Five Sentence Fiction acquaintances who has managed to produce a wide range of flash fiction pieces at Andyswordsandpictures  over the months that I’ve been participating on that site.

If any of you guys don’t want to be bothered with all this, don’t worrry.  I shan’t be offended, I’m just trying to do my bit and make sure no-one accuses me of accepting the award and not attempting to comply.  🙂

And if anyone feels miffed I didn’t include them, please remember that I may have considered you but decided that you weren’t the type who’d want to get involved in all this stuff.  That may make you feel good…or it may not.

Right, off to leave a comment on the blogs of the lucky nominees.  Talk to you again soon.  And thanks again Mikaela.  😉

 

 

 

 

 

About Sandra

I cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and write fiction and poetry. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in By the Way ..., Just Sayin'. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Blog of the Year 2012 Award

  1. backfromtheedge says:

    You’re very welcome. I think I’m even more honoured that you did a post about it than I was to receive it myself! 😀

    Like

  2. Dear Sandra,
    Thanks for the overwhelming praise and the nomination.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

    Like

  3. Pingback: Blogger of the Year Nomination « Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

  4. beebeesworld says:

    I agree about the time commitment-i had a terrible time learning to get the “button/label on-but I have a few sometimes I dont do it or dont do all the work they aske for…It is m=nice to know people like your work, though….beebee

    Like

    • Sandra says:

      Yes, I’ve just spent an hour trying to set up a ‘rule’ on Outlook. I’ve done this hundreds of times before, but not in the last 100 days, which is about my memory span. 😦

      Like

  5. Judee says:

    Congrats, and well deserved! It’s always a joy to read your writing. 🙂

    Like

  6. Pingback: Shiny Stuff | Andy's Words & Pictures

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

