Best Female Friend (Five Sentence Fiction, January 2013)

This week’s one word prompt from Lillie McFerrin’s Five Sentence Fiction was … ‘inspire’.  Of course inspiration can be something other than positive …

Amelia Sinclair was everything my daughter wasn’t; and more crucially she was everything Sarah wanted to be – slender, pretty … and complex.

Sarah didn’t make friends easily, so it was something of a relief when the pair gravitated towards each other, and before long they were inseparable, with Amelia inspiring Sarah to open up, to try things she would normally never have contemplated.

When they were discovered shop-lifting from Woolworth’s, I tried to curtail their meetings; I’d been worrying for some time that Amelia seemed to hold some kind of influence over Sarah, and that her mood swings could mean the difference between Sarah’s happiness and her despair.

I once said to Sarah “If Amelia Sinclair told you to jump off the outhouse roof you probably would, wouldn’t you?” and to my consternation there was an infinitesimal pause, before she flushed and shook her head.

But she obviously didn’t think about it long enough, because one August afternoon the pair of them climbed up onto a bridge spanning the River Tyne, and left this life together, tightly clutching hands.

About Sandra

I cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and write fiction and poetry. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in By the Way ..., Just Sayin' and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Best Female Friend (Five Sentence Fiction, January 2013)

  1. Sisyphus47 says:

    A beautifully told and sad tale… inspiration can be evil… 🙂

    Like

  2. TheOthers1 says:

    I repeat that wow. There are people with friendships that close. Scary close.

    Like

  3. Mama Zen says:

    Marvelous write!

    Like

  4. ahblack57 says:

    You are right about there being two sides to the inspiration coin and this is one side I wouldn’t want to lay my eyes on too often. Great take on the prompt.

    Like

  5. Great use of your five sentences! At first I thought I’d missed something because the story was so long and I’d seen the five-sentence line. But there were only five; however, with an impact much larger than their simple numbers.

    Like

  6. sue Cottrill says:

    There, but for the intervention of parents! Close friends can have a terrific or in this case an horrific impact. Your mind set is so personal and honest. Another story well done Sandra

    Like

    • Sandra says:

      You can influene your kids in so many ways, but their choice of friends is something you can’t control; sometimes you don’t even know about it. Thanks for reading and commenting Sue.

      Like

  7. Sandra says:

    That’s ‘influence’ : duh! 😦

    Like

  8. vbholmes says:

    A sad tale which is as much about the pitfalls of growing up as it is about the power of friendship.

    Like

  9. Feisty Cat says:

    Yes, inspiration can be something other than negative. I love it when there is a twist. Great response.

    P.S. I think talking to yourself is required if you are a writer!

    Like

  10. So sad, yet devotion is something you cannot control, worrying when your loved one is inspired by something so wrong. Beautifully and sensitively written Sandra.

    Like

  11. JazzBumpa says:

    Very sad, and you made it too realistic.
    Cheers!
    JzB

    Like

  12. Lizzie Koch says:

    Oh how very sad to be influenced to such a degree. I really liked the way you told this story, showing that at times inspiration can come from the darkest places. x

    Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

