A Special Bond (yeahwrite speakeasy #102, March 2013)

It was impossible.  I still couldn’t believe it.  Dumping my suitcase I went through to the kitchen.

The table bore the evidence of breakfast, a half-eaten slice of toast, an egg-stained plate and a coffee cup, the remains now slick with age.  My laptop, the battery long spent, was open beside my plate, and the kitchen blinds were still closed; it had been a week ago, and dawn was just breaking when I’d received the news of my sister’s death.

Rinoninha / Foter.com / CC BY-NC-ND

That’s the way you’re funnelled from one life into another; the changes wrought in a heartbeat whilst you’re happily preoccupied elsewhere.  How could I not have known?  Why hadn’t there been a blinding moment of revelation at the moment of her death?  She was my twin after all; twins have special bonds, don’t they?

My parents had been devastated; I’d stayed a few days after the funeral, trying to craft a survival plan for them from the white-heat of their loss.  It wouldn’t work; neither of them was strong, either physically or mentally.  Sometimes I wondered whether Tamsin and I hadn’t leeched every bit of vitality out of them as we’d grown up; we’d not been easy kids.

Whilst the kettle boiled I plugged in the laptop.  My inbox was full of condolences; I didn’t read them, just scanned the names.  There were people missing from the list, people who didn’t know. I’d contacted many, but dozens remained in ignorance.  Or perhaps they knew, and just didn’t know what to say.

The coffee was strong, reviving me quickly.  I logged onto Facebook and quickly scanned through the accumulated dross.  Crazy animal posters, pictures of friends enjoying their lives whilst I’d staggered through my loss.

My ‘Friends’ list was scattered with green dots; this was obviously a popular time to check out the site.  I realised I could kill several birds with one stone here, and post the bad news for those who didn’t know, whilst signalling to the others that I was back into talking territory.

I logged onto my timeline and typed quickly.

“Hi guys, just back from Tamsin’s funeral.  Thanks to those who sent flowers, and for those who didn’t know, sorry to break it in this way.  She died in a hit and run accident ten days ago.  See you around when I’ve got my act together.

I posted it, feeling like I’d thrown a stone into the middle of a smooth pond – I could imagine the waves spreading out in a circle, actively at first and then gently tailing away until Tamsin’s death was nothing more than a ripple in people’s lives.

I bent my head and cried.  Again.

Some minutes later an electronic tinkle, rather like a wind-chime, indicated the first of the instant messages.  This would be one of the brave.  Was I ready for this?  Ready to step back into my life?

I moved the mouse.

Only one green dot remained.

Next to Tamsin’s name.

Not an accident.

This week’s speakeasy challenge (courtesy of last week’s winner, Suzanne) began with the line “It was impossible” and had to bear some reference to the photo below:  

About Sandra

I cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and write fiction and poetry. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in By the Way ..., Just Sayin' and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to A Special Bond (yeahwrite speakeasy #102, March 2013)

  1. deanabo says:

    This gave me chills. Please tell me this is the beginning of a lot more! It’s one of the best things I’ve read in a while.

    Like

  2. Interesting twist at the end there…I like it.

    Like

  3. Wow I could feel every word. You really should continue this it will interesting to know why it wasn’t an accident and who ran Tamsin over. There are so many twist you can take this story through.

    Like

  4. You don’t disappoint. Strong sad lonely story. http://annbennett2.blogspot.com

    Like

  5. Suzanne says:

    Oooh! What a fantastic ending! Gave me goosebumps. Love the use of Facebook in this. Awesome as always Sandra!

    Like

  6. Eek! So spooky. I really liked the second paragraph. It read effortlessly.

    Like

  7. DonettaS says:

    Wow. Your words had me hanging on to every line, so believable and the end, filled with shock as Tamsin’s sister must be. This was wonderful to read!

    Like

  8. Sandra says:

    Thanks Donetta, glad you liked it.

    Like

  9. Stacie says:

    This is so good Sandra, I just loved it! Very spooky ending leaving me wanting much more 🙂

    Like

  10. ooohhhh, creepy – horrifyingly so for a twin receiving such a message in that way. You set the scene as very believable for your readers.

    Like

  11. Lori Wise says:

    Oooo! Love the twists! I’m with everyone else…please continue with this story! Definite goosebumps.

    Like

  12. iasoupmama says:

    Oh, man… as a mom of twins this one was so good! And such a great twist at the end. Loved it!

    Like

  13. I don’t know why, but the ending made me want to do a fist bump…and I’m not the fist bump type. Wonderful story with a surprise ending. 🙂

    Like

  14. The build up to this was sensational Sandra, I really didn’t know where it was going to land..but you hook – lined and sank me….especially that final line.

    Like

  15. Bee says:

    Your endings always catch me by surprise!

    Like

  16. Hey great job on the prompt and great post. I did a continuation ost from my piece last week and missed the deadline because I am on Vancouver time. I’m not sure what I will do but it is posted here for now 😦 http://damn-edge.blogspot.ca/2013/03/into-fire.html

    Like

  17. Sandra says:

    Thank you. I’ve tried twice on that link and it’s not working. It’s a shame to miss a deadline with a piece.

    Like

  18. Pingback: winner of the speakeasy at yeah write #102 | the speakeasy at yeah write

  19. Nick Allen says:

    Sandra, you tell stories effortlessly which makes them such a pleasure to read. This in particular is very well told. Loved it!

    Like

  20. Pingback: Strawberry Fields (yeahwrite speakeasy #103, April 2013) | castelsarrasin

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

