Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure

I was a child when we left the house in which I was born, but I remember my father taking with us part of a Hosta plant which had graced our garden for several years.   Hosta is the easiest plant to divide, you just place two garden forks back to back to split the root stock into pieces.  It usually ‘takes’ very well in its new habitat.  When my brother and I grew up and moved to our own homes, we each took with us a clump of the root stock for our new gardens, continuing the practice as we eventually moved on to other parts of the country.  Eventually the chain broke, but for a long time the beautiful plantain lily (different varieties seen above) represented our own little bit of treasure from the past.

To see what others treasure, visit Weekly Photo Challenge or click on any of the links below:

  1. Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | Basically Beyond Basic
  2. Treasure (Weekly Photo Challenge) | Icezine
  3. Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | Flickr Comments
  4. The Northern Lights Cathedral & Sami Clothing | Cardinal Guzman
  5. WordPress weekly photo challenge, treasure |
  6. Can’t Forget To Remember… | Steve Says….
  7. Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure #shotwithmyphone | Captured With My Phone, iPhoneography
  8. Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | Stephen Chapman
  9. My.Vivid.Visions | Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure – Memory of Culture
  10. Weekly Photo Challenge – Treasure | Chittle Chattle
  11. My Greatest Treasure | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  12. My treasure | MyBlog – solaner
  13. Dirty Air Insults My Intelligence | Bumblepuppies
  14. Weekly Photo Challenge – Treasure |
  15. Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | For the Archives
  16. Weekly Photo Challenge – Treasure – Liber |
About Sandra

I cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and write fiction and poetry. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure

  1. MixerUpper says:

    Very touching, Sandra. I have a snake plant that belonged to my mother. When she passed away more than 25 years ago, it was a spindly little thing in a tiny pot. Now it’s 5 feet tall and hogs the entryway in my home! It always makes me think of her. 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | A mom's blog

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Treasure | Joe's Musings

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure, Meet The Sidneys | A Dose of Dharma

  5. Pingback: WPC b4 Retouch: treasure | What's (in) the picture?

  6. Pingback: My Greatest Treasure of All | Raising Jed

  7. I love the idea. I have old plants from my grandmother and from my husbands grandmother. Also old roses from species extinct now. Lovely entry!

    Like

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | mariestephensgardening

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | The Wandering Poet

  10. Pingback: WPC: Treasure – LOVE | Words 'n Pics…

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

