Sunday Stills: Planes

The Sunday Stills challenge this week was ‘Planes’.  These are just some of the photos I took when we recently visited the Imperial War Museum, Duxford with our grandkids.  There was almost too much to take in, but we particularly remembered the cramped interior of the Concorde which we were allowed to board. Not for the claustrophobic.

But for planes in wide open spaces, how about these amphibious planes from the French rescue services that we came across last month while navigating the Rhone.  It was a little bit unnerving watching a column of these vehicles heading up the Rhone towards us.  For once I was glad of the impressive width of the river at this point.  🙂

IMG_0482 IMG_0483 IMG_0485 IMG_0488To see other examples of plane photography, visit Sunday Stills.

About Sandra

I cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and write fiction and poetry. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sunday Stills: Planes

  1. Sandra, Impressive photos of planes indeed. Once in a while in the U.S. people go to the local airport and watch the planes take off. At least they used to. 🙂 —Susan

    Like

    • Sandra says:

      We used to be able to walk out onto the terraces above the terminal piers at Manchester Airport to watch planes loading, taking off and disembarking. Now the whole area is a security risk, so you have to watch from the terminal building windows. Not the same atmosphere, sounds or smells at all. Thanks for dropping by Susan.

      Like

  2. My pilot husband would enjoy this museum immensely. Nice shots on the water as the plane approaches!

    Like

    • Sandra says:

      I’m sure he would Barbara. The entrance fee is not cheap, but you can easily spend the entire day there, either taking your own lunch or eating in the restaurants. Some hangars have re-created war scenes, tanks, buses, bomb sites etc. And yes, my heart was in my mouth as the first plane approached… 🙂

      Like

  3. Fran says:

    My hubby loves these planes, but I hate flying and would much rather be on the water :(. One day I am going to take a fear of flying course. We have spent many happy days at Duxford, Spitfires are hubby’s absolute favourite x

    Like

  4. Henry G L says:

    great, worth the waiting… 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

