Cee’s Oddball Photo Challenge: Bells, Lights & Hulking Trees

DSCF3685One of my odd-ball photos:  When we’re on the move we tend to stay at hotels belonging to the same chain in France.  So every room has a light fitting like this one, not on the ceiling but on the wall beside the bed.  The elliptical shape has always fascinated me, together with the fact that it’s angled slightly.  This is taken from directly opposite.

DSCF3617  A silver birch (I think) shedding its outer bark. I’m itching to give a helping hand.  🙂

The bell from Tinkerbell, a Danish steam locomotive currently undergoing overhaul at Nene Valley Railway, Peterborough, Cambridgeshire.  Unique for British railways in that it has a steam operated bell, as opposed to a normal whistle.  And also because some kind soul occasionally keeps it warm with a furry winter hat complete with ear flaps.

To see other oddball photographs, visit Cee’s Oddball Photo Challenge, week #7.

About Sandra

I cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and write fiction and poetry. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cee’s Oddball Photo Challenge: Bells, Lights & Hulking Trees

  1. I’ve always felt the irresistible urge to help birch bark along myself, Sandra. Whoever that person is who’s festooned that steam bell with his hat, I like him.

    Like

  2. Sandra, I love the way the light appears to be floating in the middle of space, looking like a space object. I love the way the peeling bark looks and that cap is classic fun. I so enjoy spotting small things like that cap.

    janet

    Like

  3. Cee Neuner says:

    I really like your photo of the bark. Wonderful photos for this week’s odd balls. Thanks Sandra.

    Like

  4. Those are odd photos, Sandra. I wondered what that was on that bell. 🙂

    Like

  5. Great odd ball pics, Sandra. Love the cosy bell, and that birch bark definitely could do with a helping hand. 🙂

    Like

  6. Indira says:

    I enjoyed your odd ball photos. All are fascinating.

    Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

