When Enough is Enough – Friday Fictioneers, December 2015

Copyright-Scott L. Vannatter

The carer sighs.

“That cat’s licking the rice pudding, Miriam. I’ve told you before – when you’ve had enough of something, wrap it in cling-film and put it away. She shouldn’t be on the table anyway – it’s unhygienic.”

The scowling tabby is deposited on the floor.

Miriam smiles. “Tabitha’s a bully, but I love her.”

Wiping Miriam’s face with a damp flannel, the carer catches sight of her fragile, bruised wrists.

“And I suppose your bully of a son caused those,” she says. “So where is he today?”

“In the cellar. But I remembered to wrap him in cling-film.”

I wrote a new piece for this week’s re-run prompt; my last response to the photo can be found at A Word in Your Furry.  Here’s wishing a very happy Christmas to all our happy band of writers, including the fairy on the top of the Friday Fictioneers’ Christmas tree, Rochelle.  I hope that you all find whatever you’ve been wishing for beneath your own Christmas tree.  We find ourselves sitting on our balcony, sipping Rioja and contemplating a different variety of tree this year.  🙂

IMG_2863

Eat your heart out! 🙂

About Sandra

I cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and write fiction and poetry. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers, Just Sayin' and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to When Enough is Enough – Friday Fictioneers, December 2015

  1. Dear Sandra,

    The moral is don’t sweat the small stuff. At least she used cling wrap where it mattered most. You made me laugh. Thanks heaps for the picture of palm trees when we’re headed for cold, windy and rainy Chicago. Try to have a
    Happy Christmas and shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  2. Indira says:

    What a deserving son! Am I imagining things? Hi Sandra wish you a very happy Christmas.

    Like

  3. A bit of well-written dark humor for this, Sandra. Well done. 🙂 — Suzanne

    Like

  4. Also, Happy Holidays to you and yours. 🙂 — Suzanne

    Like

  5. ceayr says:

    Christmas chuckles.
    Love the black humour, beautifully built as ever.

    Like

  6. I like a bit of dark humour, and the ending of this made me laugh.

    Like

  7. paulmclem says:

    Don’t generally like silly FF murders, but this story did make me laugh out loud. Merry Christmas, Sandra!

    Like

  8. Ha! So funny! Thanks for the smile. Seems many of us are playing the humor card this week. Thanks, too, for the picture of palm trees.

    Like

  9. gahlearner says:

    Miriam has her priorities right, cling wrap where it belongs, you wouldn’t want to torture a cat with that stuff… Very funny, I love the twist. I jealously wish you Happy Holidays. 🙂

    Like

  10. Margaret says:

    The carer’s hygiene lessons weren’t forgotten after all. Very funny and very unexpected.

    Like

  11. love the black humour. thank you for sharing and for the laugh ^^

    Like

  12. Graham Lawrence says:

    Thanks for making me laugh!

    Like

  13. rogershipp says:

    So glad the cling-free was remembered. haHaha

    Like

  14. Susan says:

    I loved it. I didn’t see the ending coming. 🙂

    Like

  15. Fun although very dark. And will the carer now start blackmailing Miriam? Christmas joy.

    Like

  16. Oooh, chilling end, Sandra; very nice! It’s fun to see you back to your trademark. 😉

    Like

  17. Judee says:

    Trust you to turn a procedure of a sweet little cat into something absolutely opposite! Loved it! I’ve missed your writing, hope to stick around more for awhile at least.

    Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

