Telling Miss – Friday Fictioneers, October 2016

peter-abbey11

“Miss, Miss…”

“Yes, Jody?”

“Justin hit me.”

I glance at Justin, studiously bent over his books, certain that he’s scarcely registered his accuser’s existence.

“When was this then?”

Jody screws up her eyes, concentrating.

“Yesterday.”

“Justin was absent yesterday, Jody.”

“Maybe some other time then.”

“Did anyone see this?”

“M-Martin…”  She falters over the name.

“Big Martin?”

She nods.  He’s from Year 9, four years older.

“Where?”

“Behind the bike shed.”

“What were you doing there?”

“Martin said he’d kill me if I told.”

I sigh. They’ll always find a way to tell… you just need to keep listening.

I’m off out for the best part of the day, so I’ve made the assumption that this week’s photo is school-related; I’ll be adding the photo when it appears.  Congratulations to Rochelle on her fourth year of hosting Friday Fictioneers.  I remember her first day – it seems like yesterday.  I know you’ve had a busy week Rochelle – so hopefully you’ll get a chance to rest now you’re back home.  And thank you for four years of excellent hosting – it’s greatly appreciated.  🙂

 

 

About Sandra

I cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and write fiction and poetry. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers, Just Sayin'. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Telling Miss – Friday Fictioneers, October 2016

  1. neilmacdon says:

    I had to read this carefully a second time before I realised what you were doing. That is so clever, Sandra

    Like

  2. Oh, you bravely dived in without the photo. And you produced another masterful story, it leaves you breathless in the end.

    Like

  3. rgayer55 says:

    It appears this wise teacher was adapt at prying the truth out, even if she had to use a tire tool.

    Like

  4. Dear Sandra,

    Close enough. The photo isn’t school related. 😉 As always, your story is well written. Astute teacher. I hope she takes care of the problem child. Again I apologize for the prompt snafu.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  5. Nicely written story.

    Like

  6. Subtly done and so true.

    Like

  7. Lynn Love says:

    What a great story. So well structured – letting us think Jody is in the wrong initially, then leading us to the knowledge that something awful has happened behind those bike sheds. Really very good 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Well done, Sandra. So many small stories within your 100 words.

    Like

  9. paulmclem says:

    I almost decided to write a story about a broken link but the photo appeared just in time. Full marks for creating both a story and a prompt 🙂

    Like

  10. MythRider says:

    Listening is a lost art. So many problems could be solved if we’d just listen.

    Like

  11. misskzebra says:

    I had to read this a couple of times, I was initially going astray because I was reading Jody as the narrator! I found this story quite compelling when I understood it, and more than a bit ominous.

    Like

  12. Masterful twist! Loved it

    Like

  13. Indira says:

    Beautifully written.

    Like

  14. As always masterfully done… with our without the prompt. Your twists ever fail to pull me in deeper. Nice job, Sandra!

    Like

  15. ceayr says:

    Another masterpiece.
    So much depth, so much character, so many troubled lives, in just 100 words.
    I don’t know how you do what you do, but if you could bottle it you would be rich.

    Like

  16. Lol!
    I can feel the teachers weariness.

    ❤ it

    Like

  17. Neatly done. I’m sure that children in such a situation must be desperately trying to tell someone, somehow.

    Like

  18. draliman says:

    Nice one, that teacher! Keep listening and the truth will out.

    Like

  19. Lizy says:

    Tragic and brilliant.

    Like

  20. Dale says:

    You truly are a master at the 100-word story, Sandra. Love how you took us ’round the bend.

    Like

  21. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover says:

    Well done, you lead me through Jody’s story and the teachers doubt to the tragic end beautifully.

    Like

  22. Oh oh oh! There are so many layers of meaning here. Each one can conjure up what it means!👌

    Like

  23. helenmidgley says:

    Cleverly done 🙂

    Like

  24. Michael Wynn says:

    Nicely conveyed Sandra. A wise teacher indeed

    Like

  25. Excellent. Just loved the snappy ending.
    Here is mine. https://neelwritesblog.wordpress.com/2016/10/29/neelwritesblog100wordstories02releasedphotoprompt-thewall/
    Awaiting your comments on the same. Tks. Have a nice day

    Like

  26. Well-told. A difficult story–starts of funny and ends in a very serious place. Big impact.

    Like

  27. ansumani says:

    Brilliant narration. Yes, adults need to listen patiently.

    Like

  28. Intriguing story. You really left me thinking…

    Like

  29. Margaret says:

    Ah. Poor Jody. And perceptive teacher. Brilliant story, Sandra – so well constructed and a very disturbing conclusion.

    Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

