Solitude: Weekly Photo Challenge

During high season, we seldom venture onto the local beach; it doesn’t seem like the same town at all when the holidaymakers descend from June through to September.  But during the autumn and winter, there’s nothing more satisfying than a solitary stroll along a deserted beach.  Storm Doris, forecast for today, didn’t reach the force that had been expected, but nevertheless, not many ventured down to sea-front this last couple of days, and I had it pretty much to myself.

The beach, on a clear sunny day offers a view right across to the Isle of Wight in one direction, whilst Old Harry Rocks can be seen further down the coast.

Moored on the river at night, with no other boats in sight, no passing commercials, and only the occasional heron for company… now that really is solitude.

dsc_0684To see the solitude of others, click on the Weekly Photo Challenge.

About Sandra

I cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and write fiction and poetry. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Solitude: Weekly Photo Challenge

  1. Sue says:

    Swanage? I love the image of the old wooden posts (the remains of the old pier?), with the Old Harry rocks behind…

    Like

  2. Pingback: Solitude: TKmax | What's (in) the picture?

  3. What fun to see more of where you live!

    janet

    Like

  4. restlessjo says:

    I LOVE the sea when it’s wild! So long as nobody gets hurt 🙂

    Like

  5. handmadejewelryhaven says:

    My father loved post WWII music and some of these pics make me think of a 2 part album that he listened to called, ‘The White Cliffs Of Dover’. Now…I know that is not what is in the photos, but for me…being brought up in south Florida…any cliff face that is white, is a quite an unusual landscape!
    Thanks for bringing back such wonderful memories of a wonderful man.

    – Lisa

    Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

