The Eye of the Beholder

Copyright Rowena Curtin

She sees the best in everyone,” he said.

“Lucky for you then,” I snapped, coldly.

He blushed.  “You couldn’t just be happy for us, I suppose?”

“You’re so right.”

In a shower of rose-petals, silver horseshoes and rice, he and my sister drove away,

He turned out to be the no-hoper I’d always anticipated, but he made her happy, and he nursed her right to the end.

Today, in the same church-yard, pansies flourish in the grass.

“I’m nothing without her,” he sighs.

“Don’t put yourself down,” I say, awkwardly.

There’ll always be someone like me to do that, I guess.

Time ran out on me again this week, so it’s a repeat from 8 years ago I’m afraid. Thanks to Rochelle, for all that she does for Friday Fictioneers.

About Sandra

I used to cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and wrote fiction and poetry. Now I live on the beautiful Dorset coast, enjoying the luxury of being able to have a cat, cultivating an extensive garden and getting involved in the community. I still write fiction, but only when the spirit moves me - which isn't as often as before. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Published Work. Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to The Eye of the Beholder

  1. Dear Sandra,

    A good rerun, I’d say. At this stage, you’re allowed and there’s virtually a new audience. 😉 The last line made me laugh out loud. It reminds me of what a friend of my mine said to me recently, “If you don’t have anything nice to say, come sit by me.” 😀

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

    • Sandra says:

      Yes after all these years there’s practically a library of 100 word stories to choose from. Thanks for reading Rochelle, I like the sound of your friend.

      Like

  2. MrBinks says:

    Repeat or not, it was great to read.

    Like

  3. neilmacdon says:

    Beautifully awkward, Sandra

    Like

  4. Dale says:

    In the end, the important thing is he made her happy; how the sister felt about him is a non-issue. I love this (not that I remember from eight years ago, so… feels new!)

    Like

  5. elmowrites says:

    Sounds like the narrator learned a thing or two along the way; you’re drawn three distinct characters here and it comes together well.

    Jen

    Like

  6. granonine says:

    I don’t remember it, Sandra, so I enjoyed it for the first time. Great irony here.

    Like

  7. Iain Kelly says:

    Do siblings (or offspring) ever choose anyone good enough for us to accept whole-heartedly? In the end it seems he was a good one, even if sister doesn’t believe it.

    Like

  8. msjadeli says:

    Such a good story, Sandra. Nice to see it delivered direct also 🙂

    Like

  9. michael1148humphris says:

    At least he cared, whilst it seems like her sister? neglected her

    Like

  10. Margaret says:

    So many layers to this. I love how you’ve built these characters. She was right about him, but also wrong, and he was right in the advice he gave her to ‘see the best’. And she knows herself perfectly at the end, but also knows she’ll probably go on being her own, critical self. Brilliant.

    Like

  11. It’s a new one for me. Loved the varied nuances in this.

    Like

  12. CGraith says:

    For an 8 year old tale, it sure reads well!

    Like

  13. Angela says:

    Reminds me how everyone needs different things from relationships. I enjoyed the layers of this story seen over time.

    Like

  14. plaridel says:

    i don’t remember reading this. has it been that long time ago? anyway, thanks for reposting this gem. much appreciated.

    Like

  15. Anonymous says:

    Yes, shifting your opinion of someone after a long time can be awkward. Lizy

    Like

  16. The ending had me laughing out loud. When all else fails, it’s always good to have someone there to point out your faults.

    Like

  17. authorfleurl says:

    Oh dear, there are couples out there just like that… both needing each other. Cute story.

    Like

  18. Heather Musk says:

    This was a first read through for me and I enjoyed it. Thank you. At least her sister was happy and he was with her until the end.

    Like

  19. GHLearner says:

    At least the sister learned a thing or two about herself, and she even admits it to herself. A wonderful story.

    Like

  20. James McEwan says:

    Hi Sandra, I couldn’t help laughing. I know some families who act this way, forever putting each other in there place.

    Like

  21. athling2001 says:

    Well done. At least he stuck by her.

    Like

  22. A bit of self-reflection is never a bad thing. It ended up good that she was wrong about him. There’s no perfect. Wonderful layered story as always, Sandra!

    Like

  23. When push comes to shove, it really doesn’t matter how she felt, now does it?

    Like

  24. Awkward is right. I hope she doesn’t have to care for him now.

    Like

  25. The beauty of these short pieces is when a complete story is told and that’s not always easy. You did that very well here while sharing an important (at least I thought it was important) message on shame and shaming others. The sister-in-law realized, sadly too late, but at least she eventually realized.

    Like

  26. Nobbinmaug says:

    Some people just don’t get along, and nothing can change that, not even time or death. Or is she just a curmudgeon?

    Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.