Black Friday Night – Friday Fictioneers, March 2024

It seemed no-one else saw it; they appeared to drift through it.

I took the barrier as a sign.

He’d pleaded with me, he’d missed me.  He’d do better.

Yet even then, he’d said he’d meet me inside so he didn’t have to pay for me at the door.

I stood there, obstructing the entrance, heart and brain in conflict.

I’d already given the heart a chance. My feet decided for me.

I heard the explosion behind me as I hailed a cab, and understood then there were no longer any alternatives.

And that neither heart nor brain had saved me.

Thanks to Rochelle for her weekly leadership of Friday Fictioneers.

About Sandra

I used to cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and wrote fiction and poetry. Now I live on the beautiful Dorset coast, enjoying the luxury of being able to have a cat, cultivating an extensive garden and getting involved in the community. I still write fiction, but only when the spirit moves me - which isn't as often as before. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Published Work. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Black Friday Night – Friday Fictioneers, March 2024

  1. Anita says:

    Apt title.

    Saved from the terror attack. Well expressed.

    Our life depends on our choice- head or heart or neither or both?

    Like

  2. neilmacdon says:

    There’s always an outcome we didn’t anticipate, no matter how hard we plan

    Like

  3. Dear Sandra,

    She’ll live another day to know she made the right decision. Shocking ending. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

  4. trentpmcd says:

    Heart or head? Sometimes the feet know best…

    Like

  5. James Pyles says:

    That’s one way to make a decision.

    Like

  6. elmowrites says:

    Sounds like she knew this was the end, even if she hadn’t realised how much. I’ve been reading some stories of women who’ve escaped domestic abuse this morning, your story comes on the heels of that. I’m glad your character turned a different way.

    Like

  7. Dale says:

    Cheap bugger. And methinks her feet, controlled by her brain DID save her. Well done!!

    Like

  8. Iain Kelly says:

    A decision made for her. Sometimes that is the only way we can come to the right conclusion, although one assumes innocent bystanders is a heavy price to pay.

    Like

  9. Sue says:

    Ouf…well told

    Like

  10. msjadeli says:

    Sandra, you’re right, sometimes your feet have to take the lead. Sorry fate lent a hand.

    Like

  11. Had a little snicker at the line about not paying for her. Final straw.

    Looks to me like he ended up paying big time. Excellent denouement!

    ~ Nancy

    Like

  12. I hope he was inside. Glad she finally listened to her intuition which moved her feet.

    Like

  13. Forestwood says:

    This is an excellent Sandra. Exceptionally well written with an undercurrent mix of morals, luck and life lessons !

    Like

  14. R.M. Carlson says:

    A comment on the complications of the world. Great job!

    Like

  15. CGraith says:

    Superb! There’s a lot in this story. Reads like an intro to a novel depending on if the protagonist just met her end!

    Like

  16. granonine says:

    A shock ending is always a good thing, even when it’s a bad thing :) Really outstanding, Sandra.

    Like

  17. plaridel says:

    it must be karma for something he did.

    Like

  18. authorfleurl says:

    That was a good move to hail a taxi. Well done, brilliantly penned.

    Like

  19. On this occasion, feet first was the right decision.

    Like

  20. Angela says:

    I like how she saw the invisible barrier. Those nudging are there for a reason, as you capture so well in your story!

    Like

  21. michael1148humphris says:

    A story that left questions in my mind. Did he plan to kill her

    Like

  22. James McEwan says:

    What a lucky escape in every sense.

    Like

  23. Nobbinmaug says:

    Heart vs. brain is the eternal struggle. It’s good to have feet as a tiebreaker.

    Like

  24. Sounds like she made the right decision. Great story.

    -David

    Like

  25. So much story in so few words!
    Excellent Sandra.

    Like

  26. GHLearner says:

    Her subconscious danger sense must have been in overdrive, seeing a barrier where no one else saw it. Following her feet sure was the right decision. A shocking ending for a great story.

    Like

  27. Anonymous says:

    Neither heart nor brain – just instinct. Lizy

    Like

  28. wow, masterful as always in so few words. The twist and turns, chances and luck, brava.

    Like

  29. Heather Musk says:

    It seems as though she was saved in more ways than one. An enjoyable read, thank you.

    Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.