North by North-West – Friday Fictioneers, March 2024

Photo copyright Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Lost in thought, deafened by the waves, I don’t notice the approaching plane until flashes of flame spring from each wing.

Twin spirals of sand explode on either side of my path and I throw myself to the ground as the plane roars overhead towards the village. 

I scramble to my feet; nowhere to hide, just acres of sand, sea and sky.

Almost lazily, the plane banks before returning, strafing the sand around me.

He’s playing with me.

The pilot banks for a third approach, but a wing-tip carelessly grazes a sand-dune.

And the game I wasn’t playing is mine.

Thanks to Rochelle for both the photo and her services to Friday Fictioneers.

About Sandra

I used to cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and wrote fiction and poetry. Now I live on the beautiful Dorset coast, enjoying the luxury of being able to have a cat, cultivating an extensive garden and getting involved in the community. I still write fiction, but only when the spirit moves me - which isn't as often as before. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Published Work. Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to North by North-West – Friday Fictioneers, March 2024

  1. neilmacdon says:

    So many games we didn’t choose

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anita says:

    Dangerous games.

    At first, I thought there may have been an accident. But, such reckless games can surely cause accidents.

    Like

  3. Dear Sandra,

    A terrifying way to spend a day at the beach. Well written as always.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  4. trentpmcd says:

    I was about to say something about Carry Grant and Hitchcock and then I noticed the title… Well played indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Anonymous says:

    Ha! A triumphant result. Lizy

    Like

  6. Dale says:

    I thought maybe you were in Sint Maarten where the planes fly way too close to the beach!! This is a game I would not like to enter, thank you very much!

    Like

  7. msjadeli says:

    Excellent writing. The care you took in composing it shows.

    Like

  8. Iain Kelly says:

    A dangerous game. One wonders what he has done to end up in that position! Does make me want to go and watch the film again now.

    Like

  9. Sue says:

    Ouf, a dangerous game indeed…unsafe open space

    Like

  10. elmowrites says:

    Wow, you really know how to have a relaxing beach day, Sandra! This is straight from a movie – perfectly played out.

    Jen

    Like

  11. GHLearner says:

    Wow, Sandra, what a great action scene. Too much arrogance is often fatal.

    Like

  12. Angela says:

    Not my idea of a relaxing day at the beach! Beautifully written!

    Like

  13. I feel a hint of WWII in this. Maybe I read too many books about it, and watch too many movies. Well done.

    Like

  14. granonine says:

    I LOVE this! The ending is superb 🙂

    Like

  15. michael1148humphris says:

    Such is fate. Interesting use on the prompt which I did not see.

    Like

  16. R.M. Carlson says:

    Seems like many of us have to play games they didn’t choose. Nice job!

    Like

  17. Margaret says:

    Your narrator has had a lucky escape. I love the way you’ve built up the tension in this, and the swift reversal of the MC’s predicament at the end.

    Like

  18. I could see this all so clearly, I actually heard the roar of the plane.

    Like

  19. Terrifying, intriguing. Excellent write, Sandra!

    Like

  20. Anonymous says:

    A mistaken identity, but saved by the accident. A great flashed scene.

    Like

  21. Heather Musk says:

    I love this Sandra, and I promise you that I had written mine before reading anyone else’s. I prefer it that way so I’m not influenced.

    You’ve done an excellent job here, and that final line is brilliant.

    Like

  22. You captured the suspense of that movie scene beautifully in these few words. Excellent!

    Like

  23. Loved the present tense and I think that last line is beautifully formed.

    Like

  24. Nobbinmaug says:

    Who needs to win when the other guy looses?

    I love Hitchcock and North By North-West is one of his best.

    Like

  25. Tannille says:

    Such visuals. So terrifying.

    Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.