That Day (Every Day Poets, June 2011)

gently rounded dunes shifted,
sand squeaked beneath our shoes
as thin strands of grass
whistled in the wind
that wound our hair
around our stinging faces

you turned to me and stared
long and hard into
eyes that watered
in the bitter cold
of a mad March day.
“not tears,” I said

scudding clouds crossed skies
at once both blue and grey,
pale sunlight shafting through
to glitter on the gulls
that cried of loss
and screamed
betrayal

along the shoreline
distant waves creamed
and foamed
shaping ripples here,
sand drifts there,
whilst blackened seaweed sprawled
spent and lifeless
across the rolling beach

amidst the curves and dancing diamonds,
gulls that circled
furling feathered clouds
I saw
my future.

About Sandra

I used to cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and wrote fiction and poetry. Now I live on the beautiful Dorset coast, enjoying the luxury of being able to have a cat, cultivating an extensive garden and getting involved in the community. I still write fiction, but only when the spirit moves me - which isn't as often as before. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Published Work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to That Day (Every Day Poets, June 2011)

  1. Sheila says:

    Beautifully evocative, Sandra

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sue Cottrill says:

    As I see mine as the years roll on. Another good piece.

    Like

  3. Sandra says:

    Thanks Sheila, thanks Sue. I don’t do very much poetry these days but it’s always nice to get something published. This site (Every Day Poets) also accepted another one yesterday, one I wrote ages ago. It’s called Ode to a Tom Cat – romantic hey?

    Like

  4. lillian says:

    “whilst blackened seaweed sprawled
    spent and lifeless
    across the rolling beach”
    I can SEE this in my mind’s eye. Excellent imagery.
    ….and the insertion of that small bit of real conversation (“not tears,” I said) makes it all so real.
    Love this piece…..I find it haunting. 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.