A Dish Best Served Cold (100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups, July 2012)

The challenge at Julia’s place this week was to create a story containing the promptthe line was drawn”.

“But… the line was drawn under all that business,” Gavin spluttered, slamming his glass on the table.  “We agreed, remember?”

“I believe you said something of the sort,” said Sarah, balancing a Louboutin on the toe of her elegantly extended foot.  Men always mistook silence for agreement.

“So why this, now?”

Why indeed?  Revenge?  Punishment?  Who knew?

She glanced at the suitcases stacked neatly in the hall.

“You’ll hate it,” he argued, “you won’t be able to cope.”

Her mother strolled into the room.  “My room is lovely, dear.  I just know I shall be happy here.  Would you take my suitcases upstairs Gavin, there’s a dear.”

About Sandra

I used to cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and wrote fiction and poetry. Now I live on the beautiful Dorset coast, enjoying the luxury of being able to have a cat, cultivating an extensive garden and getting involved in the community. I still write fiction, but only when the spirit moves me - which isn't as often as before. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in By the Way ..., Just Sayin' and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Dish Best Served Cold (100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups, July 2012)

  1. He must have been really, really bad!

    Like

  2. jfb57 says:

    Oh this is delicious! what a twist at the end! Brilliant!

    Like

  3. sinosheila says:

    I hope for his sake she’s not here to stay!

    Like

  4. Miriam says:

    I wasn’t sure if he knew she was there but the reader doesn’t, or he didn’t know and thought his wife was leaving. Either way, it’s a great story!

    Like

  5. Great ending; wasn’t expecting that at all 🙂 Interesting times ahead for them methinks…

    Like

  6. Mayumi-H says:

    Sandra, your command of subtlety is still so strong. Love this line: Men always mistook silence for agreement. Oh, how true! Thanks for the giggles. 🙂

    Like

  7. I can feel his seething and her silent satisfaction! Great work!

    Like

  8. lorrainefort says:

    You certainly turned my thinking in a different direction at the beginning! UGH for them in the next few months! Well done!

    Like

  9. Gilly Gee says:

    Well that told him! excellent 🙂

    Like

  10. Someone just got a good swift kick!
    Nicely done!

    Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.