The January Lament (Trifextra Week 52 Challenge, January 2013)


The challenge for this weekend was to write a 33 word example of ‘personification’:  

“You forget what that is?  It’s ‘personification’, the practice of attaching human traits and characteristics with inanimate objects, phenomena and animals (http://literary-devices.com).  It’s when the wind howls, the car door grunts, and the front porch shrugs its shoulders under the weight of its own history.  Remember?  For some writers, it’s the backbone of their art.”

The problem with 33 word fiction is that its very brevity almost demands the creation of ‘heavy’ or ‘dramatic’ work, and I quite often have a problem with that.  So again I went for something ‘lighter’ but for me very ‘topical’.

DSCF1341The January Lament

The bathroom scales groan.

The spandex pants persevere manfully, but the zipper on my skirt protests, and flab spills gleefully over the waistband.

Christmas retreats, chuckling.

Spring, the gym and Mr Atkins beckon.

About Sandra

I used to cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and wrote fiction and poetry. Now I live on the beautiful Dorset coast, enjoying the luxury of being able to have a cat, cultivating an extensive garden and getting involved in the community. I still write fiction, but only when the spirit moves me - which isn't as often as before. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in By the Way ..., Just Sayin' and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to The January Lament (Trifextra Week 52 Challenge, January 2013)

  1. sue Cottrill says:

    More Atkins and less gym me thinks, why does it have to be every Christmas!!

    Like

  2. joetwo says:

    Scales can lie! Remember that!

    Like

  3. Draug419 says:

    The line about chuckling Christmas is just too good (:

    Like

  4. My goodness but, haven’t you just captured one of Life’s dilemmas so perfectly. Wouldn’t it be a much better world if we could all indulge our passion for food ( and all the social pleasure that accompanies it) and not worry about the toll it is taking on our waistlines and arteries, etc.?!

    Like

  5. Dawn Lamond says:

    Gleeful flab is the worst 😉 Great personification!

    Like

  6. Kristin says:

    Christmas can be so spiteful, oddly. Great take on the challenge!

    Like

  7. atrm61 says:

    Ha!ha!Loved this,Sandra:-)At least your bathroom scales only groan,mine have run away & hidden themselves under the bed-now I can’t get to it or onto it ;-)Loved the personification-I have to learn brevity-am terrible at it,lol!

    Like

  8. barbara says:

    my flab accompanies me to the gym every weekday morning at 5 a.m. I’m the one who laughs – my fat cries as sweat rolls . . . well said, Sandra!

    Like

  9. deanabo says:

    What a perfect idea for this prompt!

    Like

  10. Gina says:

    I despise my scale. It says mean things! Thank goodness for yoga pants!

    Like

  11. Suzanne says:

    Ha! This is great Sandra! I love the line “Christmas retreats, chuckling” – wonderful use of personification.

    Like

  12. jannatwrites says:

    Ah, the weight – the gift of holiday cheer that keeps on giving. I’m pretty sure my jeans’ zippers have defied all laws of physics by remaining zipped 🙂

    Like

  13. tedstrutz says:

    Damn, you hit it on all cylinders… ‘gleeful flab’ indeed! You have my vote, Sandra.

    Like

  14. kymminbarcelona says:

    Oh, have I heard that chuckling before!

    Like

  15. muZer says:

    Brrr.. The centuries old (if I may say so) relation between holidays and weight.. Always gets you.. Loved your play of words especially “Christmas retreats, chuckling.” 🙂

    Like

  16. BrownGal says:

    I hear a collective groan from the audience or is it a Amen?! Nice.

    Like

  17. zennjennc says:

    At least the scales only groan instead of mockingly lauugh

    Like

  18. cshowers says:

    My scales beg me not to step on them, and I am happy to comply. 😀 Very good personification!

    Blessings,
    Cheryl

    Like

  19. Amelia says:

    Excellently put.

    Like

  20. Sandra says:

    i love this! Despite the fact that my scales and spandex are sharing the emotions yours display 😐

    Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.