Made in the Forties: Sunday Stills

There’s only one subject in these photographs which I can definitely affirm was ‘made in the forties’.  🙂  The others are pretty much guesswork.  To see other takes on the prompt visit the Sunday Stills site by clicking the link.

About Sandra

I used to cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and wrote fiction and poetry. Now I live on the beautiful Dorset coast, enjoying the luxury of being able to have a cat, cultivating an extensive garden and getting involved in the community. I still write fiction, but only when the spirit moves me - which isn't as often as before. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Made in the Forties: Sunday Stills

  1. mickscogs says:

    Classic Sixties shot of something made in the Forties Sandra. Good choice.

    Like

    • Sandra says:

      🙂 My mother used to say, “cut that fringe, you’ll go blind peering through that” and “you’ll ruin your feet wearing winklepickers like those”. She was certainly right on the second count.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sandra, Good photos. 🙂 — Susan

    Like

  3. Sandra, What a great car and think of all the trips the luggage went on. Tom The Backroads Traveller

    Like

  4. Never mind the car and luggage! You are drop-dead gorgeous in that photo, Sandra. You remind me of a combination Jean Shrimpton – Brigitte Bardot, honestly. WOW. And what are winklepickers?

    Like

    • Sandra says:

      Oh I think I was short of a couple of attributes to qualify for the Bardot thing, Barbara. 🙂 Winklepickers – stiletto heeled shoes with toes so pointed they could kill at ten paces. So pointed they said you could pick winkles out of their shells with them. In those days I used to walk half a mile to the bus stop, catch a bus into the local town, another bus out of the town to the station, a train to the nearest city, and walk a couple of miles across the city to the TV studios where I worked. All in these pointy three to four inch stilettos. I’m paying the price for all that now… 😦 Thank you for commenting so kindly.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Great collection of 40’s stuff. Those grey cases look a bit the worse for wear. 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.