Happy Place: Boschendal Estate, Franschhoek

 

The Boschendal Wine Estate in South Africa’s Western Cape has, for us, always been a place to remember with happiness.  Under ancient trees, surrounded by towering mountains and amongst the rolling vineyards, you collect your picnic basket (neatly covered with a check napkin) before choosing your table (draped in crisp white linen) out in the rolling pastureland.  The excellent fare is locally produced, and accompanied by fine wines from the estate.  We’ve visited twice – one of our truly happy places.

To see places that represent happiness for others, visit the Weekly Photo Challenge.

 

About Sandra

I used to cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and wrote fiction and poetry. Now I live on the beautiful Dorset coast, enjoying the luxury of being able to have a cat, cultivating an extensive garden and getting involved in the community. I still write fiction, but only when the spirit moves me - which isn't as often as before. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Happy Place: Boschendal Estate, Franschhoek

  1. I was just in South Africa and we visited Boschendal. It was lovely!

    Like

  2. Yes, it’s a really lovely place, Sandra. Beautiful photos. 🙂

    Like

  3. You fooled me, Sandra. I would have guessed something boat-related. Unfortunately, we’re never been to SA, but this place looks like a gem.

    janet

    Like

  4. Rupali says:

    Beautiful place.

    Like

  5. Who knows maybe you’ll like to participate to my weekly challenge….?…. or not !
    But you should come and take a look….
    http://www.sylvain-landry.com/category/sl-week

    Like

  6. Looks like a truly beautiful place. I love the mountains in the backgroung. 🙂

    Like

  7. Leya says:

    So beautiful…those trees are wonderful.

    Like

  8. Maggie C says:

    Beautiful! Sounds like a wonderful experience.

    Like

  9. Know this spot well 🙂 🙂 Memories go way back to the days in the late 1970’s – a whole long history before it was taken over by Anglo-American and developed further. Love your pics, especially the dramatic effect shooting the trees against the sun.

    Like

  10. yhealthy2000 says:

    Very beautiful pictures. Yaz

    Liked by 1 person

  11. aj vosse says:

    Makes me long for home…

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Christina B says:

    I love Boschendal too. We went there on our last visit to South Africa and also had the picnic. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. landofimages says:

    Fabulous tree images.

    Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.