Class of ’89 – Friday Fictioneers, May 2021

Copyright Miles H Rost

There are good years in teaching, just as there are in wine-making.

Some years produce a full-bodied vintage of budding physicists, doctors and computer scientists; others satisfy the less discerning palate with a bland array of glib-tongued sales executives, politicians and media moguls.

Every graduation day, we teachers bid farewell to the procession of high achievers, slow-burners and the inevitable crop of ‘can’t be arsed, just point me towards the Benefits Office’.

You did your best. For some that wasn’t enough.

So you just have to hope. Give it more time. Every now and then, there’s a secondary fermentation.

Life is slowly moving from 1st gear to 2nd and the calendar is rapidly filling up with long overdue visits to dentists, opticians, hairdressers and social activities. Pleased to have found a few minutes to rejoin Friday Fictioneers – I’ve been MIA on several occasions just recently. Thanks to Rochelle for her dedication to our international group of writers.

About Sandra

I used to cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and wrote fiction and poetry. Now I live on the beautiful Dorset coast, enjoying the luxury of being able to have a cat, cultivating an extensive garden and getting involved in the community. I still write fiction, but only when the spirit moves me - which isn't as often as before. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Published Work. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Class of ’89 – Friday Fictioneers, May 2021

  1. Sue says:

    Ah yes, the secondary fermenters…..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. neilmacdon says:

    What a lovely elegant metaphor, Sandra

    Liked by 1 person

  3. pennygadd51 says:

    What a lovely description of a good teacher’s approach to her work. Secondary fermentation is a great metaphor, with its promise of champagne!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. elmowrites says:

    What a beautiful image, Sandra. I suspect there are a few who seem good early, but go sour or get corked along the way too.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dear Sandra,

    Oh you social gadabout. 😉 I’m happy to see you back on the squares in any event. You’ve captured the heart and mind of a teacher. A person can only do so much and hope for the best outcome. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great thoughts for teachers. Here’s the thing though. I was an overachiever at school I ended up in the dole office more than working. These days getting good grades really means nothing.

    Like

  7. michael1148humphris says:

    I think that history is littered with secondary burners, many of whom built empires on those who came before them, ie The wants development of Chinese gun power !

    Liked by 1 person

  8. michael1148humphris says:

    Sorry word press substituted want for ‘ West’

    Liked by 1 person

  9. So you just have to hope. Give it more time. Every now and then, there’s a secondary fermentation..these lines summed it up. .

    Liked by 1 person

  10. granonine says:

    I could, with a fair amount of accuracy, tell you were the ones who found the benefits office before they did anything at all. They were the once who flunked tests and didn’t care.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Nobbinmaug says:

    Teachers have to encounter a wide variety of soon-to-be people. One can only hope the successes and failures even out. I’m sure those “secondary fermentations” help even things out.

    “Can’t be arsed” is my new favorite phrase.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. jenne49 says:

    Your story made me smile, Sandra. I moved into working with those in ‘secondary fermentation’ and a sheer joy it was. You really capture the experience of the teacher in your story. The comparison of teaching and wine is so good. (It may explain why teachers are so fond of wine!)

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Ah, indeed. Some are late bloomers. Some are wine-in-process. Some are vinegar … 😉 Some just aren’t meant to make anything you drink but contribute a lot of flavor to life … 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  14. GHLearner says:

    That’s a great metaphor, Sandra. There’s almost always a chance for a secondary fermentation. And sometimes the good young wine doesn’t age well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. If my teachers had really cared about those of us that didn’t reach their lofty aims and expectations, I might be in a very different place now!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. draliman says:

    Such is life 🙂 I fermented early, then went a bit flat and fermented again later on.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. James McEwan says:

    I expect as a teacher you have to feel proud of those who try and have done well, also feel a little saddened that some others fail in motivation.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Bear says:

    What a totally true story this week, Sandra. Have to say that this reopening of life is a bit “weird” feeling, for sure. Not so sure I’m ready for it. I was rather beginning to enjoy the quiet, simple lifestyle. Shalom, Bear

    Liked by 1 person

  19. msjadeli says:

    I think, as with most endeavors, you do your best and leave the rest to God. I do think that seeds planted may take years to germinate once the ground is fertile for it. Glad to see you back with FF, Sandra.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. The downside of teaching. Giving everything and knowing with some it’s not enough. Life’s about the long haul though. I’m so glad for that. Well written as always, Sandra.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. subroto says:

    That’s a lovely story. I just realised that I am in the “secondary fermentation” category.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.