Alter Ego, (Five Sentence Fiction)

The prompt for this week’s 5 Sentence Fiction challenge was ‘Coincidence’ http://lilliemcferrin.blogspot.co.uk/p/five-sentence-fiction.html

Alter Ego

 Her pale fingers hover over the keys of her laptop, and she gazes in shock at the website page displayed on the screen before her.

The story she has just read is one of her own, yet displayed for the entire world to see under a stranger’s name, and when she flicks through the site she sees more of her work, some of which has generated comment and discussions on its quality and originality.

Outrage at this blatant act of plagiarism rises like bile within her; what kind of a person would steal the ideas of others, and reproduce them verbatim under their own name without even attempting to disguise them as their own?

Once again, she feels that familiar yawning chasm of despair lurking only a few paces away, that spiralling bitterness at the way she’s always been someone’s victim, forever bearing the brunt of someone’s evil, vindictiveness and cruelty.

She slams the lid of the laptop down, staring at her reflection in the mirror opposite her desk, and as she drops her head in her hands, sobbing loudly, the woman in the mirror smiles, opens her laptop and resumes writing, staring contemptuously at the pathetic figure before her.

About Sandra

I used to cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and wrote fiction and poetry. Now I live on the beautiful Dorset coast, enjoying the luxury of being able to have a cat, cultivating an extensive garden and getting involved in the community. I still write fiction, but only when the spirit moves me - which isn't as often as before. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in By the Way ..., Just Sayin' and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Alter Ego, (Five Sentence Fiction)

  1. dmmacilroy says:

    Sandra,

    I like the way you think. Who’s in the mirror and which is the reflection?

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Like

    • Sandra says:

      Thanks for commenting Doug. This one came to me during a restless night so I thought I’d get it out right away this morning. I think the woman in the mirror is winning the struggle 🙂

      Like

  2. sue Cottrill says:

    Like this one conjures up a few thoughts – alter ego perhaps, or maybe lack on confidence

    Like

  3. Sandra says:

    Thanks for commenting Sue. That’s another way of looking at it. Good thinking.

    Like

  4. Spooky – maybe she’s gone all schizoid from shock – are we seeing her refection, or is she? Maybe it’s about alternative reactions and she knows she should roll with the punches instead of breaking down. I like the ambiguity of this and the double meaning in the the title.

    Like

  5. Sandra says:

    Thanks for commenting Sheila. One of the things I like about these prompt challenge exercises is that I don’t need to have any answers. I only need to set the scene and then I’m as free as everyone else to ascribe meaning to it. 🙂 So liberating just to go with the flow, not having an editor breathing down my neck demanding ‘what does it mean …?’

    Like

  6. Madison Woods says:

    Loved that!

    Like

  7. Wonderful!! Leaves us wondering who is who, not only in your story, but in our own creative lives!

    Like

  8. Sandra says:

    Thanks Ruth, glad you enjoyed it.

    Like

  9. Absolutely wonderful! Never saw that ending, but it could not have been more perfect. So good 🙂

    Like

  10. Sandra says:

    Thanks for dropping by Lillie, and for commenting.

    Like

  11. Judee says:

    Oh my, this actually gave me a shiver at the end, like maybe it’s her alter ego, a split personality. Well done!

    Like

  12. Sandra says:

    Thanks for commenting Judee, appreciate it.

    Like

  13. Pingback: My Homepage

  14. sacha1nch1 says:

    sandra that was frightening; i knew exactly where it was going but had no desire to skip a single word in order to get there

    randomly clicked on this from your ‘just sayin” page……..i feel i must risk another…

    Like

  15. Sandra says:

    Feel free! Thanks for commenting Sacha.

    Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.