As Ye Reap … (Five Sentence Fiction, July 2012)

The one word prompt for Lillie McFerrin’s Five Sentence Fiction was ‘Harvest’.

“Oh Mum,” moaned Katie from the doorway, “we were just asked to bring a contribution, not feed the five thousand.”

Susan placed a red gingham tea towel over the basket containing a freshly made poppy-seeded bread plait, jars of home made marmalade, piles of gleaming apples, plums and gently curving pristine yellow bananas, and stepped back in satisfaction to admire her efforts.

Her mind drifted back to a scene thirty years earlier, when,  racked with embarrassment and nerves, she’d confronted her own mother about her apparent lack of enthusiasm towards the donation for the annual church harvest festival.

“For Christ’s sake, Susan,” her mother had said, idly flicking ash off the end of her cigarette and onto her grubby dressing gown, stained with the previous night’s inaccurate consumption of red wine, “if they’re needy, they’re needy, and beggars shouldn’t be choosers.”

“No daughter of mine”, thought Susan, grimly, “is going to rock up at the harvest festival carrying a can of peas and a half a packet of cornflakes.”

About Sandra

I used to cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and wrote fiction and poetry. Now I live on the beautiful Dorset coast, enjoying the luxury of being able to have a cat, cultivating an extensive garden and getting involved in the community. I still write fiction, but only when the spirit moves me - which isn't as often as before. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in By the Way ... and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to As Ye Reap … (Five Sentence Fiction, July 2012)

  1. Jo-Anne Teal says:

    Sandra, you know I always am tickled by your strong writing and this week is no exception. The situation is so true and heartfelt. Perfect first line, describes the story and the character of the daughter all in one.

    Like

  2. TheOthers1 says:

    It’s always interesting to me how much our parents affect how we behave. Great storytelling here.

    Like

  3. tigerbrite says:

    Sounds a wonderful harvest basket. Much better than my paper bag with a pound of cooking apples 🙂

    Like

  4. lisashambrook says:

    Again, I love you’re writing Sandra! You catch the complications of the human psyche so well…loved her determination to be better than her upbringing!

    Like

  5. I loved the description of all the yummy goodies… 🙂 There’s no way that Susan would let history be repeated…
    Wonderful writing and characterisation!

    Like

  6. Ooh, this is a delectable character study…emotional, succinct, powerful!

    Like

  7. Oonah Joslin says:

    Och – the humiliation of it 😦

    Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.