The Tutorial (Five Sentence Fiction, October 2012)

The one word prompt from Lillie McFerrin’s Five Sentence Fiction this week was:  Flawed

 

“Your manuscript shows promise,” he said, his steepled fingers tapping thoughtfully against his pursed lips, “but despite your best efforts, I still have to say that I find your writing deeply flawed, my dear.”

She sighed, reflecting that on this, the last of the six, inordinately expensive tutorials, there was still another criticism of her work.

If it wasn’t issues surrounding ‘point of view’, it had been ‘show not tell’, and she’d lost count of  the hours she’d spent correcting or eliminating three-point elipses and amending dialogue tags or speech contractions.

“You see,” he continued, warming to his theme, “to be brutal, I’m not sure you’ve got the imagination to write a crime thriller, my dear;   you really are a tad, shall we say … insular … and they do say you should only ‘write what you know’.”

“Oh don’t’ worry about that,” she said, smiling engagingly at him, and fingering the blade deep in her pocket, “I’ve got that angle covered.”

About Sandra

I used to cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and wrote fiction and poetry. Now I live on the beautiful Dorset coast, enjoying the luxury of being able to have a cat, cultivating an extensive garden and getting involved in the community. I still write fiction, but only when the spirit moves me - which isn't as often as before. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in By the Way ..., Just Sayin' and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Tutorial (Five Sentence Fiction, October 2012)

  1. Andrew says:

    What a delicious twist. She’ll probably sell a million copies. Great stuff Sandra.

    Like

  2. ahblack57 says:

    Another delicious entry. Your character has more flaws than just her writing it seems.

    Like

  3. dekeboo says:

    I liked the twist 🙂

    Like

  4. Sharry says:

    Ooh, perfect ending for a complete prick.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. JazzBumpa says:

    Nice job. Hmmmm — I might have to reconsider some devices . . .

    Cheers!
    JzB

    Like

  6. TheOthers1 says:

    Whoa! You always slip that in well! Nice job! (excuse my exclamations).

    Like

  7. Nice twist! She’ll have something interesting to write about now 🙂

    Like

  8. Ho. Ho. A first hand experience in the write what you know category. The cutting edge so to speak.
    Good one. Randy

    Like

  9. Sandra says:

    Sharp! Thanks for dropping by.

    Like

  10. Mike says:

    Great story with a wonderful twist.
    This is one pompous critic who may regret his words.

    Like

  11. I agree with the comment above, think it was from Andy: Another delicious story! So enjoyed this Sandra!

    Like

  12. Well, he had his chances, six of them! So when can we look up her book? 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.