Something Must Be Done (Business Card Fiction, January 2013)

January 2013 BCF verticalTwitter: @SandraCCrook

If you like very short fiction, you might like to take a look at  Business Card Fiction’s monthly tournament.   This is my entry for the first of the prompts to be issued during January, the second one going public on 14th January.  I hope to God I can remember how I managed to create this submission as an image, since it’s taken me the best part of the afternoon to do this one.  😦     Why don’t you pop along and see how it operates, there’s still time to enter.   And you’re probably more computer-savvy than I am.  This was the photo prompt for the first one:

About Sandra

I used to cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and wrote fiction and poetry. Now I live on the beautiful Dorset coast, enjoying the luxury of being able to have a cat, cultivating an extensive garden and getting involved in the community. I still write fiction, but only when the spirit moves me - which isn't as often as before. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in By the Way ..., Just Sayin' and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Something Must Be Done (Business Card Fiction, January 2013)

  1. You did terrible very well here. What an interesting idea for a writing challenge! So many of the Fictioneers also write other places but I’m afraid to go elsewhere because of the time factor. I’d be taking away time I should be using elsewhere. What to do?!

    Like

  2. Sandra says:

    Thanks Janet. It is a good idea, because you end up editing your work to fit the template, which is a bit of a challenge in itself. My new year resolution was to participate in more challenges, and to submit more to different sites – I became a bit lethargic the last quarter of 2012. I’m working on the assumption/hope that activity might stimulate creativity… ;

    Like

  3. snellopy says:

    Nice work, I like the way you sandwiched the story into something must be done at the top and the tail.

    Like

  4. The cyclical feel of this is quite haunting. I love the details you used–particularly the tie between the blind children and Mother Nature’s resentment. Excellent. Thank you.

    Like

  5. This is excellent, Sandra. I especially love the line:”…as though Mother Nature resented being seen when brought so low.”

    Like

  6. Echoing others, some great sentiments and lines…this is a challenge, but worthwhile!

    Like

  7. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Sandra,

    I do so love reading your stories. I’m glad I found you here. (Why am I not surprised?)

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Like

    • Sandra says:

      I’m everywhere!!! 😉 My NY resolution was to join as many ventures as I could, after a very fallow period towards the end of last year. So I’ve been writing and submitting like crazy this year. Something coming up at The Story Shack soon, plus Boston Literary Magazine in March. Perhaps I’ll see you there.

      Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.