Sunday Stills: The Letter F – Fright!

I was in the kitchen making a cup of coffee.  Suddenly, there was an almighty explosion behind me in the breakfast room, followed by the sound of tinkling glass that seemed to go on for ever, with slivers showering into the kitchen.  This was the scene that greeted me when I turned round.

The dining table was in fragments, the only untouched remnants being the two extension leaves that would normally slide out from beneath the surface of the table.  My favourite vase, together with its contents lay amongst the debris beneath the table.

Apparently this is more common that you’d think and can be due to many things, thermal stresses, binding within a frame, internal defects/inclusions in the glass …  We never discovered what had caused the explosion, but we concluded it was probably the latter since the table was unframed and had never been exposed to direct sunlight.

Not all bad news though… after I was interviewed by BBC Radio about this, the manufacturer supplied us with a brand new table free of charge, not to mention heavily discounting a matching set of coffee tables.  🙂

Sunday Stills challenge this week was the letter F. 

About Sandra

I used to cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and wrote fiction and poetry. Now I live on the beautiful Dorset coast, enjoying the luxury of being able to have a cat, cultivating an extensive garden and getting involved in the community. I still write fiction, but only when the spirit moves me - which isn't as often as before. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sunday Stills: The Letter F – Fright!

  1. Tom K says:

    Free is a nice “F Word”

    Tom The Back roads Traveller

    Like

  2. Pete says:

    As a paranormal investigator…………………….only joking, 🙂 I have heard of these things happened before. There is a glass makers trick which they make Prince Rupert’s Drop its a bulb of solid glass with a tail and you can hit the bulb with a heavy hammer but break the tail and the whole thing explodes into almost dust. Here is the youtube video which shows the effect and the science behind it 🙂 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xe-f4gokRBs

    Like

  3. Wow! Glad no one was in the room at the time. The after pictures are amazing.

    Like

  4. Espirational says:

    I had a glass table top crack down the middle once. I don’t know what I would have done if it had exploded.

    Like

  5. JackieP says:

    That would have scared the crap out of me! Wow, looks like a bomb went off. Glad no one was in the room when it happened.

    Like

  6. Oh my goodnight! I would have jumped right out of my skin. 😯 So glad no-one was hurt and you had a good outcome. 🙂

    Like

  7. What an experience. I looked at the photos after and I could see what happen through your words. Fright just doesn’t cut it I’m thinking a four letter word beginning with F more appropriate.

    Like

  8. Pingback: Sunday Stills, the next challenge: The Letter F | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.