Weekly Photo Challenge: Extra, extra!

This week’s Photo Challenge asks for photos that have a little something ‘extra’.

We’ve just arrived back from six weeks cruising the rivers and canals of France.  Whilst the scenery is ever-changing, it’s pretty much the same type of thing; trees, bushes, reeds, flowers.  When you come to a lock, it’s fun to see how the lock-keepers, or those who have inherited the lock-keepers’ cottages, take the opportunity to bring a little something ‘extra’ to the ten minute locking experience.  These photos were taken on the beautiful Canal du Bourgogne.

To see other takes on the theme, visit  the Weekly Photo Challenge.

About Sandra

I used to cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and wrote fiction and poetry. Now I live on the beautiful Dorset coast, enjoying the luxury of being able to have a cat, cultivating an extensive garden and getting involved in the community. I still write fiction, but only when the spirit moves me - which isn't as often as before. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Extra, extra!

  1. What fun, Sandra! Hope you have a wonderful weekend!
    janet

    Like

  2. Ese' s Voice says:

    Another proof of creativity still being very much alive 🙂
    Great interpretation, Sandra!

    Like

  3. iceman says:

    Interesting and amazing

    Like

  4. WOW!! This is incredibly beautiful.

    Like

  5. Love a lock-keeper with a sense of humor. Fun images, Sandra, have a great weekend.

    Like

  6. Those photos were both interesting and amusing, Sandra. 🙂 —Susan

    Like

  7. Amy says:

    How fun! Wonderful take on, Sandra!

    Like

  8. Lucy says:

    What a wonderful place to be. So creative. And beautiful. I’d love to have all that in my yard. Lucy

    Like

    • Sandra says:

      I’m always in awe of people who can create such incredible things with their hands. I really enjoyed passing through here. Thanks for dropping by.

      Like

  9. What creative art work.

    Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.