Travatine Man in Shadow – Weekly Photo Challenge

DSC_0033 - Copy

The well-lit version of Travatine Man

 

I once spent the best part of an afternoon experimenting with ‘shadow’, the topic of this week’s WordPress Photo Challenge.

Above is the subject of my experiments, a taciturn man who’s presided over our household for over 20 years.  He’s travelled safely with us, (UK-South Africa-UK-South Africa-Germany-UK-Spain-UK) despite weighing over 5 kilograms.  The only blemish on his noble countenance is his right ear, which has a tiny chip missing from the top rim.  This was down to our two border collies, who upon seeing the postman approaching the door, threw themselves at the matching travatine table upon which he resided, in order to get a better view.  The top of the table launched into the air and Travatine Man sadly went into free-fall.  😦

To see other responses to the ‘shadow’ challenge, click on the link.

About Sandra

I used to cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and wrote fiction and poetry. Now I live on the beautiful Dorset coast, enjoying the luxury of being able to have a cat, cultivating an extensive garden and getting involved in the community. I still write fiction, but only when the spirit moves me - which isn't as often as before. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Travatine Man in Shadow – Weekly Photo Challenge

  1. Perfect, Sandra, just perfect.

    janet

    Like

  2. This might be my favorite of your WPC submissions yet. It’s amazing to see how his features are enhanced through shadow. Wonderful, Sandra!!

    Like

  3. Wonderful entry, Sandra. So glad the damage to your Travertine Man was only slight. I’m sure your heart was in your mouth at the time. 🙂

    Like

    • Sandra says:

      Thank you! You’re right, of course, it’s not travatine – it’s travertine. Oh well… 🙂 Yes, I was worried on several counts – the dogs themselves, the coffee table and of course Travertine Man.

      Like

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Shadowed | Silver in the Barn

  5. macmsue says:

    Lovely shots and just perfect for the challenge.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge-Shadowed | WoollyMuses

  7. Lovely, Sandra. Welll done.

    Like

  8. Tina Schell says:

    It gives him more character Sandra 😊

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.