The Fall Out – Friday Fictioneers, September 2020

 

Copyright Rowena Curtin

When the red mist lifts, as lift it surely will, he will be consumed with regret.

But for now, the thrumming of his rage, the clenching and unclenching of his fists, the drumming of his heels… this is the fodder for his blackened soul.

Darkness descends.

Oblivion…

Stillness…

Time…

A thin sliver of light permeates his narrowed eyelids, gently raising a curtain on his despair.  He struggles to his knees, stumbling from the wrecked porch, reaching for her.

She’s not there… that’s nothing new.

But the gaping mouth of the disused well, the cover cast aside… now that’s something else.

The last week of September – how quickly the year has passed.  Thanks to Rochelle for leading the Friday Fictioneers through another summer. 

About Sandra

I used to cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and wrote fiction and poetry. Now I live on the beautiful Dorset coast, enjoying the luxury of being able to have a cat, cultivating an extensive garden and getting involved in the community. I still write fiction, but only when the spirit moves me - which isn't as often as before. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers, Just Sayin' and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to The Fall Out – Friday Fictioneers, September 2020

  1. Carole and Barrie Grant says:

    Absolutely chilling!!!!! Unfortunately these things are real life for too many people! Thanks for the colourful story!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. neilmacdon says:

    That well is going to look more and more seductive

    Like

  3. Dear Sandra,

    This does leave a chill in its wake. Well done as always.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  4. MrBinks says:

    YES! This goes one of two ways, and I love it!

    Like

  5. Iain Kelly says:

    Grim, but it feels like the inevitable result.

    Like

  6. You’ve managed to convey a huge story in this tiny sliver of a tale. Brilliantly done, Sandra!

    Susan A Eames at
    Travel, Fiction and Photos

    Like

  7. Tannille says:

    Potent language. Chilling. Well done S!

    Like

  8. Chilling ending there!

    Like

  9. What a cliffhanger. I’m left wondering what happens next😯

    Like

  10. Rowena says:

    Well Sandra, I think this story is my favourite of yours so far. It was very atmospheric and the emotions grabbed me by the throat.
    It’s interesting that the subject of this photo is a charity donation bin, which itself has had a rough life and has a few dents. This particular charity raises money for religious education teachers in our local high school, but no doubt many people in strife have passed through the charity shop itself, along with people like myself who like a bargain and treasure hunting.
    Best wishes,
    Rowena

    Like

    • Sandra says:

      Thanks for reading Rowena. Interesting photo, and interesting to hear the background to it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Rowena says:

        Being Australian, I’ve struggled with a number of the photo prompts before because I couldn’t place them. Yet, it’s taken me many years to finally send a photo in to Rochelle. It’s been very interesting to be able to apply the replies to a place I know.

        Like

  11. Did she fall or was she pushed? Either way, he’ll never be the same.

    Like

  12. The sense of despair is palpable through your words. I fear this doesn’t end well.

    Like

  13. granonine says:

    Oh. Dear. Horrible outcome of an uncontrolled temper fit. Excellent writing.

    Like

  14. ceayr says:

    Once again I marvel at your ability to pick a genre and make it your own.
    From the brilliant first line to the stunning denouement this is horror at its finest.
    I am all out of chapeaux…

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Dora says:

    Sandra, What a transfixing story of how anger turns the most loving into monsters. Now for the consequences! Chilling.

    Like

  16. I can only imagine what happened… and it seems like he is blessed with oblivion… but memories will come back I fear.

    Like

  17. Mike says:

    There is such a lot to think about in this. I am not sure who will end up in the well

    Like

  18. msjadeli says:

    Tragedy is afoot. My hope is that she has left the farm and that he jumps in the well.

    Like

  19. draliman says:

    Chilling. This time he went the extra step.

    Like

  20. plaridel says:

    like they say, regret always comes last.

    Like

  21. Sue says:

    Chilling take on the prompt! I wonder what waits at the bottom of the well.

    Like

  22. pennygadd51 says:

    Brrr! How cleverly you call up the arc of an abusive relationship – but with a little twist that makes it all your own. Brilliant writing, Sandra

    Like

  23. A brilliantly written story. The ending gave me a shiver. I can only imagine what he had done in his fury. The pain he inflicted. Horribly sad because of the truth of it. But, so well written!

    Like

  24. Great description, Sandra! Such visceral language. I always love reading your stories. I hope you’re doing well these days.
    -David

    Like

  25. Nobbinmaug says:

    I’ve known people who’ve been vicitim of a blind rage. I’m happy to not be one of them. You’ve captured it well in a stunning silhouette.

    Like

  26. Indira says:

    Hi Sandra. I hope and pray you are all safe and healthy. This virus is making life difficult with masks and social distancing. Cases are on the rise every day though fewer deaths.

    Like

  27. subroto says:

    Chilling story. Looks like this time he has done the unimaginable.

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Powerful and intense story this week, Sandra. It leaves the reader trying to understand this type of person. You unfold words brilliantly. Thank you for another inspiring write. Have a great day … Be Safe
    Isadora 😎

    Liked by 1 person

  29. notestowomen says:

    Sandra, I read this and was so drawn in. How well you describe domestic violence–the abuse, the regret and then it begins all over again until the abuser goes too far.

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Oh no! Shudder! Well written, Sandra!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.