The Magpie – Friday Fictioneers, June 2021

Copyright Alicia Jamtaas

Here, in this hide-away, are the missing pieces of several jigsaws.

Letters I’d misplaced, whole bundles of them, and others which have never reached me… all here.

My diaries, the illicit gifts furtively unwrapped and hidden away, cherished photographs of my other life… all here in my daughter’s secret place.

Having sated herself on both the public and private aspects of my life, whilst destroying much of the latter in the process, she’s moving on.

“I have a right to a life of my own,” she says, “I need to be free.”

She was never burdened with a sense of irony.

Here in the UK the hot weather is set to break later tonight with thunderstorms spreading up the country. Love a good thunderstorm. Thanks to Rochelle for finding the time to lead the Friday Fictioneers every week.

About Sandra

I used to cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and wrote fiction and poetry. Now I live on the beautiful Dorset coast, enjoying the luxury of being able to have a cat, cultivating an extensive garden and getting involved in the community. I still write fiction, but only when the spirit moves me - which isn't as often as before. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Published Work. Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to The Magpie – Friday Fictioneers, June 2021

  1. neilmacdon says:

    What a delightfully monstrous child

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anita says:

    She is a courageous girl, daring to live in such a place 🙂
    A rebel in her private getaway with secrets!

    Like

  3. Sue says:

    Courageous or monstrous? I haven’t quite worked it out

    Like

  4. Dear Sandra,

    The daughter sounds anything but courageous. Self-seeking, self-absorbed and downright sneaky. And now she wants to move on? Sad and infuriating story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  5. jenne49 says:

    What a brilliant piece of writing that generates so many questions. About the daughter, but about the mother too. Just brilliant

    Like

  6. Sometimes you just have to break free. Great story!

    Like

  7. Tannille says:

    Wow, so much to this tale. I’d love to read more. Complicated relationship.

    Like

  8. pennygadd51 says:

    You are a wonderful writer, Sandra. This piece is terrific from beginning to end. That last line “She was never burdened with a sense of irony,” is a cracker!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. msjadeli says:

    Sandra, one of your best character studies yet. You could build a world around these two.

    Like

  10. msjadeli says:

    p.s. GREAT title!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Love that last line. I have been in a lot of AA meetings where I hear somebody go on and on about how they used to be so selfish. “Enough about me. What do YOU think about me?”

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Relationships between mothers and daughters are often difficult. A very intriguing multi-layered story.

    Like

  13. My daughter did that to me I’d slap her! And I love thunderstorms too.

    Like

  14. Nobbinmaug says:

    I love the metaphorical use of the shack in the woods as a secret hideaway for both mother and daughter in their troubled relationship.

    Like

  15. Dale says:

    I can’t top all the other comments except to say this is so well done. You have a gift!

    Like

  16. mjlstories says:

    They both sound a handful! Intriguing.

    Like

  17. What a selfish child! Destroying memories, spying (in a way), and then moving on because she deserves her own life! I don’t like her very much. Well done!

    Like

  18. James McEwan says:

    Amazing.I have heard of parents infringing into the lives of their children, reading their diaries etc, but a daughter being so deceptively secretive and prying into her mother’s life is a different angle. Oh, by the way, can I have all those missing jigsaw pieces back, thank you.

    Like

  19. Reading this made me feel thankful that my daughters grew up fairly normally. Either that or I didn’t realise what was going on!

    Like

  20. elmowrites says:

    I enjoyed the story, but it’s the title that stands out for me. Excellent choice.

    Like

  21. Dora says:

    Sandra,
    Wonderfully wrought story. The magpie moves on after picking apart her mother’s life.
    pax,
    dora

    Like

  22. draliman says:

    Yes, please, go away and be free. Leave the poor mother alone to pick up the pieces. Delightful child 😮

    Like

  23. plaridel says:

    everything has an expiration date whether we like it or not.

    Like

  24. Life would be very different if there weren’t missing jigsaw puzzle pieces.

    Hi. I enjoyed your story.

    Like

  25. GHLearner says:

    Superb writing. I have neither sympathy for mother nor daughter. If you grow up finding out that your mother lives a secret double-life you’re not going to be all understanding and frienshipy, especially in puberty. Young people tend to extreme reactions. And if the mother doesn’t see that and bemoans the irony… obviously they never really talked to each other. But there’s so much more in that story- We’ll never know unless you write it. 🙂

    Like

  26. granonine says:

    Oh dear–questions, questions! Did Mom have two lives? Was she a bigamist? Or were these secrets from before she married and had this selfish child? Daughter seems not to care much about what she destroys. Bitterness kills everything it touches.

    Like

I'd love to hear your views; it reassures me I'm not talking to myself.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.